ICC question and the future of Kenya after the elections


In a few days we are going to elect our next president and I need not remind you who are the contenders. In a democratic society everyone is allowed to cast their vote as you so please, but here I think we need to take caution. We are a net importer of goods and services. We depend on the good will of our development partners to export our tea and coffee to their countries.

Brothers and sisters, when Mzee Moi was president in the early 1990s we had donor freeze, stunted growth, high unemployment, unstable exchange rate and many other social and economic problems simply because his government was despotic and wasn’t accountable to the house and to the development partners. We are on the verge of committing an error of several magnitude, whose effect no one really knows for certain, if we elect the Uhuru/ Ruto duo to the helm of government.

By electing them, we will have voted against the ICC and the Int’l community and what will follow is hard to tell but we have examples in Zim and Sudan to guide us to what might happen. Now is the time for all of us who care about our country, a semblance of progress and prosperity to go out of our way and convince our friends in the Jubilee Coalition not to vote for their presidential candidate, for goodness sake, the duo have a case to answer at the ICC. I don’t say they are guilty, neither do I ask they be punished, nope, that would contradict what I believe in, all am asking is they settle that case first and foremost then vie for president. Am not the president of the court.

All I want is they attend to the matters of the court as private citizens and later on in future they may apply to govern. For the time being, please stop the campaigns and do something worthwhile with your time!

There is a case in the High Court challenging the legibility of Uhuro/Ruto candidacy. I don’t want to preempt the judges’ decision but I think if they are truly rational they will disqualify the two from the election and put the dates of the appeal after the election. I think this would be the heroic thing to do but then you can’t trust these judges!

The European Union has made their position clear, you can elect anyone you want but there will be consequences

and President Obama had this message to the Kenyan public.

and shortly after Johnnie Carson had this to say on the choices we will make.

One has to be really daft not to see the message the international community is sending here. There are those who support the Jubilee presidential aspirants and make a claim we are a sovereign nation and shouldn’t be bullied by anyone. I don’t disagree, but we are in a global village. Zimbabwe is sovereign and when I last checked inflation was at 11,000,000 % and Republic of Sudan has public transport grounded, civil unrest and uncertainty and an imminent rise in unemployment and a government unable to meet its obligation.  What is sovereignty when life becomes unlivable because of the ego of two individuals? Is sovereignty going to create employment to satisfy the ego of two men?

I need these UhuRo supporters to tell me why they think we should vote for their candidate. Am open to persuasion.

I abhor tribalism. I have spoken and written against it, am only asking that all those people who love Uhuru to not vote for him, that is all. But if you desire to suffer for love as Prometheus suffers for his love for humanity after he gives them fire, then by all means vote for Uhuru/ Ruto. If on the other hand you feel as strongly as I do, then ensure they lose, I don’t care who you vote for as long as you don’t vote for Uhuro and Ruto.

I hope this is not too much to ask.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

7 thoughts on “ICC question and the future of Kenya after the elections

  1. john zande says:

    It’s funny and sad. Growing up i had no interest at all in politics. I didn’t need to. Both major parties were centrists, both stable, the country egalitarian to its core. It distresses me to hear the urgency in your words regarding this election. It shouldn’t be like that. Dare i ask which party your support?

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      The party [ODM] I support did so badly in the nominations am still disappointed. This is urgent my friend. I have always been passionate about politiks from when I could make sense of it and politicians have never disappointed, they continue to prove to me over and over again they represent the worst the society can produce. They make grand claims when they seek votes and reverse all these and much more once they are in the August house!

      Like

      • john zande says:

        Politics in Brasil is much the same. Populist PT have won the last 3 presidential elections. Nearly every elected PT member of congress has however come under corruption investigation since. What is left a PT president (Lula, now Dilma) who has to buy votes in the congress to get policy passed…. and every congressman knows it. The result is Pay-to-Play politics. Sickening.

        Like

  2. Daniela says:

    I have to admit right from the outset that I do not know much about your beautiful country’s political landscape. However, I admire passion in your post and the well written call for reason. I sincerely hope it will be heard.
    All the Best,
    Daniela

    Like

  3. Anne says:

    Noel I m sure if you went into politics you would be different 🙂
    Did you ever consider it?

    Like

  4. […] to elect our representatives and those who will govern for the next five years. Five years ago, I wrote about the elections and the choices we had to make at that point. It appears the majority had their […]

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

