Theists, listen up!


Can one honestly say that he is convinced of the existence of a being whose nature is not known, who remains inaccessible to all our senses, and of whose qualities we are constantly assured that they are incomprehensible to us? In order to persuade me that a being exists, or can exist, he must begin by telling me what this being is; in order to make me believe the existence or the possibility of such a being, he must tell me things about him which are not contradictory, and which do not destroy one another; finally, in order to convince me fully of the existence of this being, he must tell me things about him which I can comprehend, and prove to me that it is
impossible that the being to whom he attributes these qualities does not exist.

A thing is impossible when it is composed of two ideas so antagonistic, that we can not think of them at the same time. Evidence can be relied on only when confirmed by the constant testimony of our senses, which alone give birth to ideas, and enable us to judge of their conformity or of their incompatibility. That which exists necessarily, is that of which the non−existence would imply contradiction. These principles, universally recognized, are at fault when the question of the existence of God is considered; what has been said of Him is either unintelligible or perfectly contradictory; and for this reason must appear impossible to every man of common sense.

Jean Meslier

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

4 thoughts on “Theists, listen up!

  1. john zande says:

    Wow, i’m saving this one!

    Like

  2. emmylgant says:

    “in order to convince me fully of the existence of this being, he must tell me things about him which I can comprehend, and prove to me that it is”

    What else can anyone add to this? Truth in its elegant simplicity.

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.