Not so pleasant news


Friends, those of you, who, like me, don’t watch TV and rely on other news sources maybe unaware of what is probably one of today’s big stories around the world concerning the motherland, maybe only second to the suicide bomber somewhere in the middle or far East who killed people at a funeral. There has been a security situation, I think as far as I can tell, the second of its kind, if you count the 2005 incident in which balaclava clad men raided a media station holding journalists hostage for a few hours, good thing no one was hurt, where armed and I think masked gunmen have raided a shopping mall and so far many people have lost their lives.

I feel sad for those in the middle of this mess and sorrow for all those who have lost loved ones in this incident maybe because it is death that hasn’t come naturally or in a way of their own choosing similar to all those who have lost lives in suicide attacks, malaria deaths, road accidents, and in of 1000 ways to die.

This situation made me think of this documentary

And a few twitter updates

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

24 thoughts on “Not so pleasant news

  1. Mordanicus says:

    I have understood it was/is a revenge action of al-shabaab, for the fact that Kenyan armed forces that driven them away from the Somali-Kenyan border. Which once again show that religion incites to meaningless violence.

    Like

  2. john zande says:

    “God is in control”

    Of what?

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      You and me doesn’t know what! There are several questions this person can be asked about why their god allowed the guns to fire, why he didn’t send this guys some place else and what else I don’t know!

      Like

  3. aguywithoutboxers says:

    Obviously, no one is in control. Otherwise, this never would have happened. Sad.

    Like

  4. God, god god…. god is in control. Won’t someone explain why god sent those guys with guns? Their god must like blood.

    Like

  5. themodernidiot says:

    relax everyone. it’s just another tuesday in north hollywood

    Like

  6. fojap says:

    I just took a quick look at the news. I’m very sorry to hear about the deaths, and the injuries as well. I hope you are doing well.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Am doing well my friend and thanks for asking. It is quite sad

      Like

      • fojap says:

        The newspaper this morning was very sobering, not only the incident in Nairobi, but there was a serious one in Pakistan as well.

        Like

        • makagutu says:

          I ordinarily stay away from news and at the moment I doing exactly that. These funny people still have guys hostage!

          Like

          • fojap says:

            When I came home last night, I was actually looking for fluffy news about the baby panda at the National Zoo in Washington and noticed the attack in a sidebar. I think I only looked at it because I know someone in Kenya, although it took me the longest time to get it through my head that the Koala bear didn’t mean you were Australian. Probably due to the large number of foreigners at the mall, this seems to be getting a huge amount of coverage world wide.

            If cute animals provide relief for you, there’s a panda cam turned on the baby panda.

            Like

          • makagutu says:

            I like animals and when I needed a gravatar, I got the Koala bear first.

            The seige at the mall is the second threat of such magnitude since 1998 bombing.

            Like

  7. mixedupmeme says:

    I am replying to this several days hence and know by now the situation is no better and probably even worse. God is on vacation.

    Like

  8. Very sad. Glad you and yours are safe.

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

