Comic relief


Friends I promise this is the last post of the evening and no, I have not paid to fill your readers with all these many posts but since we all agree sharing is living, I felt it was only fair and just that I bring this very interesting blog post to your attention so that you could fire away, let’s call it an intellectual fire zone.

The posts are here and here.

I wasn’t aware till I read these posts people became atheists so they can smoke; someone give me a smoke and a lighter, drink: the booze is on me tonight or not go to church! I know countless religious people who don’t remember the last time they had a conversation with their church pastor. But I could hazard a guess why he could not become an atheist; he didn’t apply himself intellectually. You don’t close your eyes and say am an atheist.

And please no one is born religious. You are born without beliefs in anything, basically born ignorant. Religion has to be fed to you same time you are fed on milk formula so you can spread the same nonsense to your children and hopefully have enough of these to corrupt an entire village if not country.

The rest is for you my friends to weigh in.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

24 thoughts on “Comic relief

  1. melouisef says:

    Something that you may enjoy
    Better to be uneducated than educated by your government.”
    ― Penn Jillette, God, No!: Signs You May Already Be an Atheist and Other Magical Tales

    Like

  2. mixedupmeme says:

    Saw your topic of Comic Relief. Am afraid to click on the links. Thought it might lead back to my blog. 😦 Please say it isn’t so!!

    Like

  3. john zande says:

    I was going to comment, but i don’t think there’s any point.

    Like

  4. aguywithoutboxers says:

    Well, if he became an atheist so he could smoke and drink, then he really didn’t have any incentive to convert. All he had to do was get sober. No effort. No pain, no gain. I bet he’s never seen his liver, he knows it’s there through science.

    Thank you, my Nairobi brother! 🙂

    Like

  5. Mike says:

    That is really comic! I left him a comment (an itchy one) on his blog 🙂
    Thanks for sharing, you made my day

    Like

  6. themodernidiot says:

    Go back and read these again

    #2
    SHE is writing an apologetic for herself, not making a case against atheism. She actually implies a little understanding from her readers by saying noting atheists and believers are pretty much the same in that they know what they know, and that’s just the way it is.

    With this statement she allows for both possibilities, “Once you believe in something so strongly that you KNOW it’s true, you can’t ignore it’s existence.” Pretty freakin’ bold proclamation from an LDS’er.

    She did not say anything negative about atheists. And yes, if your belief in god is what structures your moral code, then not believing would logically relieve you of it.

    #1:
    She’s not claiming she popped out of the womb reading the great words of Joseph Smith Jr. She’s just saying she was born into the church, which she was, regardless of her age of baptism.

    So…your move hater 😉

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      oh my dear…. I agree with your first comment about pretty much everyone. Unless one is a skeptic in the class of Berkeley, there is a point where you stop further inquiry, at that point you think you have attained the truth you were seeking and most likely everything you read after that builds on that which you accept as truth.
      If I implied she said something negative about atheists, my bad, I only interpreted what I saw as a misrepresentation for look at the things she lists after saying she tried to be an atheist. It only follows from the way her argument is presented that people become atheists to smoke, drink and I can’t remember what else was mentioned.
      And in reason one she says explicitly

      I was born a Latter-Day Saint.

      not born into the LDS. Unless you want her post to read what it is not, it is only fair that we take it at face value unless a clarification is offered.

      Like

      • themodernidiot says:

        She’s not putting immorality at the atheist’s doorstep; she’s just describing how her own value system is categorized: things with god and things without.

        I thought it was cool she didn’t disparage atheism, and put them on par with her own level of faith.She didn’t pull the typical: since atheists do not believe in god, they’re all shite and wrong. She put hers and atheist knowledge/faith equidistant and lateral, which I think we could agree is where it belongs. I mean seriously, people can argue all they want; but both sides operate on circumstantial or a total lack of evidence depending on the sub-topic.

        Now the “I was born” bit; this is just a semantic choice. She’s using it metonymically, which works in the colloquial. You know, like the amish. You’re considered born amish even though being amish is not a race, species, or even a nationality. it’s just a religion. but the community is the people is the church. i’ve seen the same in catholicism, judaism, and islam. the lines of identity blur. church person god community overlap. mormons do the same. to be born into mormon is to be born mormon.

        Besides, she states that technically she was not born LDS, because mormon children are officially baptized around 8 years old; but for the purpose of their belief system-community-culture, being born to active LDS parents gives you a free pass into mormonship.

        Why are you arguing semantics when she’s already clarified that?

        Like

  7. I commented on the first link. We shall see if it is approved.

    Like

  8. vastlycurious.com says:

    Surprised you even posted those……..

    Like

  9. vastlycurious.com says:

    Why did you even post these……..

    Like

  10. Real real me says:

    Haha, I agree that no one is born religious. First we became aware about ourselves then about religion. Otherwise what would our imagination of God be like if we’re said that He looks like us?
    The person probably wasn’t serious about becoming an atheist from the start. Saying that one isn’t able to become an atheist having so many atheists is underestimating of the power of the people.

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

