Adventures of Huckleberry Finn


by Mark Twain

There is no book by Mark Twain that I read and didn’t enjoy and this is one of the definitely good ones.

As is written in the title of the post, this book tells of the events in the life of Huck Finn from living with the Widow Douglas, his run ins with Judge Thatcher, his plot to run away from his father who by day locks him in a cabin in the middle of nowhere. We are told of how he managed to saw space enough to escape through, faked his horrible death and left on raft which he rides mostly by night and during the day he lies low so as not be seen. There is the chance meeting with Jim, the runaway nigger who tells him of the search for his, Finn’s, body, the search for his father and the journey the two of them make till they meet the two cons, the Duke and the King and the adventures that follow till Jim is sold to the family of Aunt Sally by the old king.

Huck Finn is interesting, adventurous and a thorough going non believer who seems unable to stay away from trouble. He lies about everything from his name to where his home is just to be left to his own devices. He is also a good man. He risks his life many times to save Jim the runaway nigger of Miss Watson, helps some poor girls who were about to lose all their savings to a pair of thieving cons. One either likes Finn or hates him but you can’t be indifferent to him.

Tom Sawyer reminds me of Don Quixote. If something is to be done, it must be grand. They pull an elaborate plan on his Aunt Sally in order to free Jim who has already been set free by Miss Watson in her will.

If you haven’t read any of Mark Twain’s books, then maybe you should read this one.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

22 thoughts on “Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

  1. aguywithoutboxers says:

    Mark Twain was a great storyteller and his social satire was unfortunately lost on most of his contemporaries. Did you know that his books popularized the fine art of nude swimming throughout the south?

    Great post, my friend! Have a wonderful weekend! Please remember to drive the posted speed limit! 🙂

    Like

  2. Masterpiece of a novel. I consider this to be THE great American novel.

    Like

  3. I know you’re familiar, Mak, with my involvement with the Civil Rights movement in America, and though others of your readers might not be, I think you can assure them that I would never be racially derogatory.

    That said, there are groups in America who would ban the book, “Huckleberry Finn” from libraries or at the very least, insist that the publishers edit new editions to remove the word, “Nigger,” which I would imagine everyone in the world knows is a derogatory racial slur, describing a person of African ancestry.

    If the movement ever got strong support, I would be in there, actively resisting removal of the word – I believe the book NEEDS the word, “Nigger” in it, and I will support it’s remaining in with my last breath.

    First of all, Twain wrote of the Mississippi River of the mid 1800’s, that flowed through states where slavery was legal, sad to say, and that word would have been normal for the place and time.

    But even more important is the transformation that takes place between the two adventurers on the raft. Jim, the runaway slave, has no reason to trust a white person, yet over time, he learns to trust Huck with his life. Huck, on the other hand, initially sees Jim though the eyes of a Southern White of the era, and Twain wants you to watch, as gradually it dawns on Huck that his traveling companion is not just some beast of the field, fit only to be taught how to pick cotton, but a real, flesh-and-blood person, exactly like himself, with hopes and needs and aspirations.

    We, Twain’s audience, are actually privy to watch as for Huck, the word, “Nigger” loses it’s meaning – if we lose the word, because of the effort of some well-meaning do-gooders, we lose Twain’s meaning, in which case it becomes just another adventure story, and Twain wrote much more deeply than that. I see Twain as sending a message to his South, the South he loved, “You can change! Huck did!” but without the word, the message is lost, or at the very least, watered down.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Thank you for your insight and yes am aware of your involvement in the civil rights movement. Jim I think on two occasions tells Finn he is the best friend he has and he will ever have. Huck at the end proves to Jim that he is a good friend for example where he insists he is traveling with his whole family and they have small pox? And they do not search the raft. Great read that book was and thanks to you for introducing me to Twain in our very earliest conversations. This book has been on the reading list for quite a long time.

      Like

  4. CHope says:

    Living just north of Memphis, I’m near the great Mississippi River and have heard so many stories about Twain in the last four years we’ve lived here. I think as a Christian my mind was a bit resistant to Twain, but as an atheist now I would love to re-discover his ideas and literary works.
    Thank you, Makagutu, for posting this and reminding me of the great man he was.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      You are most welcome dear friend and of all the people have come to know, your transformation has been one of the greatest stories I have come to read. You should definitely read Twain again, you’ll find him quite fun to read.
      Hope you have been well.

      Like

  5. Arkenaten says:

    It is sitting on my shelf. I have started it three times and put it down every time.
    I am nearly finished with Reaper Man by Terry Pratchett. I will dig it out now and stick it by my bedside to begin tonight. Again….

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      you must love Terry Pratchet I guess. You should find time to finish huckleberry Finn, it’s an interesting read

      Like

      • Arkenaten says:

        I often feel guilty because I don’t enjoy the classics as one is supposed to.
        Though do have a fairly large collection of the ‘classics’ : which came with the set of Britannica.
        I have read a few…

        Like

        • makagutu says:

          I think am stuck in the classics. Most the books am reading on philosophy and even most of the novels seem to be from ages gone bye! I should come to the present century or am going to need several lifetimes as it is

          Like

  6. HUCKLEBERRY FINN is one of my favorite Mark Twain books. I love the story, the characters–especially Jim and Huck–but I also love the “huckleberry” thread. His name in this book, and references to lessons about huckleberries in “The Night Thoreau Spent in Jail,” as well as foods and berry picking in Little Women. It’s fun to follow the trail.

    Like

  7. Mak — Twain was way before his time, was he not? One of my favorites. Some of the best quotes ever which I post a lot, especially on political blogs. Glad you enjoyed Huck Finn. =)

    That is just the way with some people. They get down on a thing when they don’t know nothing about it.

    Just because you’re taught that something’s right and everyone believes it’s right, it don’t make it right.

    Right is right, and wrong is wrong, and a body ain’t got no business doing wrong when he ain’t ignorant and knows better.

    If you tell the truth you do not need a good memory!

    ― Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

    Like

  8. shelldigger says:

    I read this so long ago it might as well been in another lifetime. Definately a good read, and I should probably enjoy it again.

    Like

  9. mixedupmeme says:

    Your review of this book was really good. I have read it but enjoyed listening to it being read on tape best of all. It is one of those–thou shalt not skip any words–kind of book. I love listening and following along with the text.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      I had missed you my friend! Am so glad you are back.

      I loved the book so much and now I have queued The Adventures of Tom Sawyer to be read in the next few days.

      Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

