If god


I love Celsus. Here was a very brilliant man! If I were the current pope, I would encourage believers to read such scathing critique of Christianity from antiquity and maybe with time we will move together in the 21st Century free of superstition. Let us here Celsus

If god, like Jupiter in the comedy, being roused from a long sleep, wished to liberate the human race from evils, why did he send only into a corner of the earth this spirit of whom you boast? though he ought in a similar manner to have animated many other bodies, and to have sent them to every part of the habitable globe. The comic poet indeed, in order to excite the laughter of the audience in the theatre, says that Jupiter, after he was roused from his sleep, sent Mercury to the Athenians and Lacadaemonsians:- but don’t you think that it is much more ridiculous fiction to assert that god sent his son to the Jews?

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

19 thoughts on “If god

  1. aguywithoutboxers says:

    Exactly! If this event were truly to be an act of love and redemption, then it should have played in theaters everywhere and not just in an obscure location to a people who borrowed culture rather than create one. A very good post, my friend!

    Didn’t we just make you Pope? πŸ™‚

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Better still, if this Jesus fellow were really doing as a favour why does he weep like a baby at the very moment of his crucifixion while Socrates goes to his death with the dignity he has lived by.
      I think Camus was right, if this fellow lived, he realized at the last moment that all this was in vain!

      Like

      • The pertinent point, I believe, lies in your preface, “If this fellow lived….” – his statement, “My God! My God! Why hast thou forsaken me?” was lifted directly from Psalms.

        Still, you have to consider that a simple gulp of hemlock (and I’ve heard that juniper berry wine is quite tasty) is a far cry from hanging all day in the hot sun, with nails through your feet and wrists. I’d say that gives the guy a little entitlement. I know I’D complain, but I complain when I get a hangnail or my coffee’s cold.

        Like

  2. I wasn’t aware at the time that I was giving you a birthday present, but from your enjoyment, it would appear I have. You’re like a kid in a candy store! Enjoy —

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      I love the book. How I wish we could have the copy as written by Celsus himself, I think it would be a great book!
      Thanks again for the recommendation

      Like

      • Unfortunately, none of Celsus’ actual works survived antiquity – all we know of what he wrote, lies in the rebuttals to his premises by 2nd century Christian philosophers, such as Origen. Several wrote treatises called, “Contra Celsum,” (“Against Celsus“), in which they quoted his statements before attempting to refute them.

        In Origen’s Contra Celsum 7.18, for example, concerning Moses’ instruction to demand “an eye for an eye,” compared to Yeshua’s admonishment to “turn the other cheek,” Origen relates Celsus said:

        “Who is lying? Moses or Jesus? Or did the Father, when he was sending Jesus, forget the instruction he had previously given to Moses? Or did he change his mind, come to despise his own laws, and then send his messenger to accomplish opposite ends?”

        Celsus didn’t sugar-coat —

        Like

  3. john zande says:

    Come on! Galilee was the global epicenter of many wonderful things, like….

    Like

  4. Eric Alagan says:

    Incidentally, if god sent his only son – what did his wife, the mother had to say about it? Back off a little here – who IS the mother?

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

