The Naked Ape


by Desmond Morris

No, this is not a review. I just started reading the book and I like the introduction. He writes

There are one hundred and ninety three living species of monkeys and apes. One hundred and ninety two of them are covered with hair. The exception is a naked ape self name Homo sapiens.  This unusual and highly successful species spends a great deal of time studiously ignoring his fundamental ones. He is proud that he has the biggest brain of all the primates, but attempts to conceal the fact that he also has the biggest penis, preferring to accord this honour falsely to the mighty gorilla.

I will tell you once I finish the book and once again thanks archy for the recommendation.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

7 thoughts on “The Naked Ape

  1. john zande says:

    Read this nearly 20 years ago, and loved it. The Selfish Gene is another beauty.

    Like

  2. Never a problem —

    Like

  3. aguywithoutboxers says:

    Very true! I’d forgotten about that piece of wisdom! I’m grateful for the reminder and the accompanying laugh! 🙂

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

