On freedom


Freedom is not a reaction; freedom is not choice. It is man’s pretence that because he has choice he is free. Freedom is pure observation without direction, without fear of punishment and reward. Freedom is without motive; freedom is not at the end of the evolution of man but lies in the first step of his existence. In observation one begins to discover the lack of freedom. Freedom is found in the choiceless awareness of our daily existence and activity.

Krishnamurti

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

11 thoughts on “On freedom

  1. Mordanicus says:

    A great quote to start my day. I think it’s a good question what do we mean with freedom?

    Like

  2. aguywithoutboxers says:

    An interesting quote to begin the middle day of the week. It also begs the question: are any of us truly free? Then: At what point are we free? Thanks, my Nairobi brother! I now have thoughts to ponder as I subway into work today! 🙂

    Like

  3. Aquileana says:

    Great post… “Freedom is not a choice”, that´s so true, as a matter of fact I believe we are condemned to be free (well Sartre said it)…
    Great blog, keep it up, we´ll be in touch, Aquileana 😉

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

