Government wage bill


No, this is not the name of the next noble Grecian or Roman, but it is a topic that’s on almost everyone’s lips in the country at the moment before we move to the next scandal. There always are scandals. Maybe that’s how governments are run. We have laptop scandal, light gauge railway soon if it isn’t a scandal as yet and others that I am unaware of because I don’t watch news and so on.

The Auditor General has returned the government balance sheet and he tells us the government wage bill stands at 52% of the GDP. Am no economist and will not talk as one but I think this is beyond absurd. I have always said we fucked ourselves when in the struggle for a new constitution and decentralization of government, we let emotions run amok than reason. We created several offices but it was never thought where the money to pay them was going to come from. Now shit has hit the fan and something must be done and do urgently.

My first solution would be to abolish the national assembly and keep the senate. I would suggest the 47 counties be reduced by half or more. Redundant offices like those of permanent secretaries be abolished. Cut down on non essential travel for government officers. All government retreats for lack of a better word to be held at institutions run by the government and where possible cut down on these useless retreats. Arrest corruption. Work on the cost of doing business, interest rates and efficient revenue collection and allocation. I would not suggest firing civil servants as this may be counter productive. It may lead to higher unemployment and this increases the burden of those who remain in employment further stagnating the economy. Instead, the government must rationalize the pays of all civil servants. This requires courage and foresight.

I have often said that whereas the idea of a devolved government was timely especially in view of the neglect of some areas by the successive regimes. It was hoped that by devolving funds and governance to the people, there would be some change in terms of developed that the office bearers would, being residents of the various counties, attend to the more pressing issues. This hasn’t been the case. In almost all of the counties, the first order of the day for the new office holders was to get themselves 4×4 at our expense.

We have created a society where we pay a few idiots so much money to do so little and tax the workmen so much that they have nothing else left to spend. Those who have argued in attempt to justify the high salaries earned by the commissioners, mpigs and members of the executive is so that they are above being bribed and I wished this was the case. Unfortunately, we hear of reports of corruption involving this same officials.

I have a bigger question though and one that may be seen as quite naive but requires to be given a lot of thought. The state employs a cabinet secretary and pays him a huge salary, buys him a car and gives him a fat allowance. My boss employs me, pays me enough to get going and I buy myself a car. Why do we buy these fuckers cars, fuel it for them, give them huge allowances and they still offer us nothing?

I will digress a bit. In classical Greek and Rome, a man or woman was distinguished or honoured by the state for exemplary service. We pay men and women so much money, treat them as demigods for doing a shitty job! How mad can we be? I think the majority of the population both educated and uneducated are fools to let this go on for the duration it has been!

The two clowns at the top decided that to arrest the wage bill, they will take a 20% pay cut. This to me is serious bullshit. This idiots drive around in convoys of over 10 cars causing traffic jams in their wake. They spend n magnitude more money on travel and so called meetings that would make the 20% cut a drop in the ocean. These clowns and their advisers must give us a blue print on how they intend to arrest the wage bill both in the short term and long term. A pay cut for a few of them is naught. To demand that public servants also take the pay cut is insane. How would they survive? Are prices of commodities going down by the same percentage? Is the government going to bring down the cost of finance by ensuring banks do not charge interest rates above 4% points the rate they borrow money from CBK at worst? What about the cost of fuel/ energy?

In a post I wrote sometime last year, I did q uestion the rationale of having permanent secretaries and cabinet secretaries if both these posts are non elective and executive? Why duplicate duties. We have standing commissions I don’t know for what that keep drawing large salaries.

What are the fellows at the ministry of finance and planning doing? How do they justify their salaries?And who advises the clown on the hill anyway? Something is seriously amiss and it needs to be addressed sooner.

End of rant.

Curb wage bill

High wage bill will shut down this country

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

14 thoughts on “Government wage bill

  1. john zande says:

    A fine rant. I find it hard to study Brazilian politics for many of the same reasons. These guys are true fuckers: they have a law in-place which says they cannot be prosecuted, for anything, while in office. They can literally be caught funneling US$30 million into a private bank account and positively nothing can be done to them, and they keep their job, and they obscene salaries, and their pensions, and their perks…

    Like

  2. nannus says:

    A sad story. Would anything bad happen to your country if those people would simply be dismissed?

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Others would come to replace them maybe just as greedy. That is the tragedy we are in

      Like

      • nannus says:

        And not only in your country. That is a disease most of Africa and some other areas are suffering from.
        Does religion play a role in stabilizing this situation, by appeasing people and diverting their attention away from earthly (and political) matters?

        Like

        • makagutu says:

          Religion plays a part but not a lot of it. There is the belief that leaders are ordained by god and so once they elect thieves and idiots to govern them, the leaders become demigods and the process of getting them out becomes a Herculean task.

          Like

  3. Well, well dear friend, do you understand now why I have changed my blog’s name to “Defiant Hopelessness”?
    I’ve already left two Eastern European countries for all the reasons+, you just mentioned above. Why do you think I did it?
    After the so called Romanian revolution, I took part as local “leader” in the protests aimed against the establishment of a fake democracy good only to those at the self-elected top. When I was nearly arrested by the same secret police which just changed masters after December 1989, I decided to leave… You know I realised it’s not worth dying for a lie, and I left before being publicly attacked and beaten like my friends were after that, just because for the masses the crumbs on “Stalin’s boots” are better than nothing. And who could blame the starving?
    Is it better today? Definitely!
    Both the “Boot” and the “crumbs” are bigger here…
    I am ashamed, but not hungry, and my four children don’t have to share one 12 sq. metre bedroom…

    Like

  4. aguywithoutboxers says:

    This is the curse of probably every government on earth. Give a few access to money and they immediately create schemes to keep most of the wealth within their closed circle of cronies. Most of us know this practice as greed.

    Nice job, my friend. I see I’ve missed quite a bit here in my absence. I will be busy trying to “catch” all that I missed. Much love and naked hugs to you, man! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Your thoughts are sound. Perhaps it’s time for you to become a leader? I find government spending to be less offensive than what is paid to Sports Stars and actors. It is a sad commentary to our society here.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      I find government spending offensive when everywhere you look has wastage written over it.
      You talk of sports people. The money some radio journalists make here for spewing BS whole day is beyond belief!

      Like

      • vastlycurious.com says:

        It really is hard to believe compared to the wage of many that deserve more. I am not in favor of redistributing wealth but find it absolutely revolting.

        Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

