why I am an atheist


by Shaheed Bhagat Singh

I will paste extracts of the post here and ask you to read the whole article for I can’t do justice to his clarity.

[…]

I was convinced that the belief in an almighty, supreme being who created, guided and controlled the universe had no sound foundation.

[..]

After a long debate with myself, I reached the conclusion that I could not even pretend to be a believer, nor could I offer my prayers to god.

[..]

Those who are well versed in the philosophyย of jurisprudence relate three of four justifications for the punishment that is to be inflicted upon a wrong-doer. These are reform, revenge and deterrence. The retribution theory is condemned by all the thinkers. Deterrent theory is on the anvil for its flaws. Reformative theory is now widely accepted and considered to be necessary for human progress. [..] But what in essence is god’s punishment even if it is inflicted on a person who has really done some harm?

[..]

For the sake of argument we agree for a moment that a person committed some crime in his previous birth and god punished him by changing his shape into a cow, cat, tree or any other animal. You may enumerate the number of these variations in godly punishment to be at least eighty four lack. Tell me, has this tomfoolery, perpetrated in the name of punishment, any reformative effect on any human man? How many of them have you met who were donkeys in their previous lives for having committed any sin? Absolutely no one of this sort!

[…]

As regard the origin of god, my thought is that man created god in his imagination when he realized his weaknesses, limitations and shortcoming.

[..]

If, as you believe, there is an almighty, omnipresent, omniscient and omnipotent God-who created the earth or world, please let me know why did he create itย ? This world of woes and miseries, a veritable, eternal combination of numberless tragedies: Not a single soul being perfectly satisfied.

[…]

The idea of god is helpful to a man in distress.

[..]

No dear sir, never shall it happen. I consider it to be an act of degradation and demoralisation. For such petty selfish motives, I shall never pray.

And if any of the readers of this blog have a copy of Soham Swami’s Commonsense and is willing to lend the host, we could discuss the possibility of this.

Why am an atheist

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

16 thoughts on “why I am an atheist

  1. shelldigger says:

    I like this persons quotes. Sensible enough.

    As to the why, the x-ian god obviously created the world because…he was lonely, and wanted some worshippers. Not friends or aquaintences but worshippers. Turns out his first 2 screwed up, so he dropped all kinds of misery upon them and their descendents, but he’s really such a great guy, so I hear. Later as he became fairly disgusted with his creations, he just wiped em all out except for a few lucky souls on a big boat full of…well it probably was full of more manure than animals…I’m sorry let’s continue. All the peoples were murdered by a big flood because just poofing them out of existence requires too much magical effort or something and what the heck this guy built a really big boat anyway. But he really is a great guy, so I hear. As it turns out though, this whole thing didn’t really work out either, so god had to send his son in to fix these stupid creations who just can’t keep their noses up god’s ass properly. So the son comes in, and does a few parlor tricks, shows a turn the other cheek side, and appears to have some forgiveness thing going which is new and improved, but then gets himself crucified for his troubles. But wink wink, that was all part of the plan yesiree.

    Nowadays, only a select few really have the inside track to gods good side because they are the right cult of this x-ian religion. Which cult this is however is still in dispute, as there appear to be umpteen thousand of them all vying for the #1 slot. I am sure they will figure it all out any day now. Yep any day now. Then we will finally know which x-ian cult is the right one. Right?

    Ummm, if I had the book, I’d surely let you borrow it, alas I do not…

    …sorry I was just feeling mischievous today.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Something just occurred to me while i was reading your comment. Was it impossible for this god to make those he wanted to kill sleep and not wake up instead of drowning dogs, cats and donkeys that were just trying to eke a living! So much for an all powerful god if you ask me.

      Like

      • shelldigger says:

        Exactly, much of the reason for my snarkiness. If this god is so all that, he supposedly could just magic away all of his problems (us) Instead, there is so much freakin theater, drama, and mayhem. I mean to go through all the that for a flood, did he not smack himself in the forehead later? “All I had to do was *poof*!”

        Nope, god apparently needs his drama. I bet he watches reality tv.

        Like

        • makagutu says:

          And the worst kind I presume. Loves too much blood. Kills them for entertainment. Maybe in the list of god hobbies, killing must be top of the list followed by seeing red

          Like

          • shelldigger says:

            lol. I bet we just got bumped up on the list of smiting. But if these smites are on the day of the return we are probably good for a while. ๐Ÿ™‚

            Like

          • makagutu says:

            At that time, I will just say hold it a bit. Now can we talk about this killing god, are you sure this is how you want to finish this problem? ๐Ÿ™‚

            Like

  2. Cerberus Black says:

    Hey…. Don’t I remember you from somewhere? Ahhh-yes. The atheist papers I believe. Just thought I’d drop by and say hello.

    Nice blog btw

    Like

  3. *The idea of god is helpful to a man in distress.*
    A lot of atheists I know refuse to speak negatively of religion in any way because of this one fact. I simply don’t believe that if someone’s belief in God/Gods disappears, they will no longer be able to find hope in difficult situations. In fact, if we were rid of believed mythology, we might just have to depend on one another. How much better the world would be if we were talking to our neighbors instead of praying to non-existent deities?

    Like

  4. aguywithoutboxers says:

    Outstanding recommendation, my friend. Perfect for this time of the year when the believers are so intent on insisting that everyone focus on their beliefs! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

