The Value of man to society


This book by Newell Dwight Hillis, is quite an interesting read if one can ignore his many god or Jeebus references.

I especially find it useful his treatment on the usefulness of books. I can understand his thinking that the bible is the best book ever written, given he was a church minister. When we last talked about books, I think friends mentioned several books that the bible or its promoters wouldn’t hold their own against. I encourage you, especially those who don’t read to start reading. Don’t read anything you lay your hands on, no, that will not be of help so much. I can’t help you choose what to read but I hope it will not be a useless tract as many of these are released almost daily. He writes

books also advantage us in that they exhibit the unity of progress, the solidarity of the race and the continuity of history.

People must learn the science of living with men, that is how to live in society with others. He writes man

stands in the center of many concentric circles. About himself, as a center sweeps the home circle; his immediate neighbourhood relations describe a wider circle; his business career describes one larger still; then come his relations to the wider community in general, while beyond the horizon is a circle of influence that includes the world at large.

It is to say that a man of great learning is one has mastered the art of getting along with himself and with others around him.

He mentions imagination as the architect of manhood, writes on the importance of memory in development of character and the use of right thinking among others.

I thought it was a good read, not one that I would recommend you must read though.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

6 thoughts on “The Value of man to society

  1. aguywithoutboxers says:

    Thank you for the thoughts, my Nairobi brother! I trust you enjoyed your weekend?

    Like

  2. i think your thought is too fine….i feel to nice…

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

