Has this question been answered


when men contend for their freedom, and to be allowed to judge for themselves respecting their own happiness, it be not inconsistent and unjust to subjugate women, even though you firmly believe that you are acting in the manner best calculated to promote their happiness? Who made man the exclusive judge, if woman partake with him the gift of reason?

Maria Wollstonecraft to M. Talleyrand-Perigord

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

70 thoughts on “Has this question been answered

  1. This is the legacy of a time when might did make right and ownership was one of the more convenient forms of protection. Times have changed. We need to change.

    Like

  2. It shouldn’t be that way.

    Like

  3. It will only change when male leadership steps up to the plate and addresses the problem as a male issue. In an interview, Christopher Hitchens stated that men are inclined to want to own women (as though they are property). Therefore they (men) believe that they are the best judge over the lives of women. I’m not a man, so I’m not suggesting that this is how all men think/believe. I do think this attitude is cultural not innate.

    Like

  4. Ruth says:

    As long as men walk around scratching their southerly parts and readin’ the scriptures and as long as us women folk cook the supper and heed the word this here’ll be the way it is.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      I agree with you on that

      Like

    • Ruth — your comment reminded me of another Elizabeth Cody Stanton quote:

      “You may go over the world and you will find that every form of religion which has breathed upon this earth has degraded woman… I have been traveling over the old world during the last few years and have found new food for thought. What power is it that makes the Hindoo woman burn herself upon the funeral pyre of her husband? Her religion. What holds the Turkish woman in the harem? Her religion. By what power do the Mormons perpetuate their system of polygamy? By their religion/ Man, of himself, could not do this; but when he declares, ‘Thus saith the Lord,’ of course he can do it.

      So long as ministers stand up and tell us Christ is the head of the church, so is man the head of woman, how are we to break the chains which have held women down through the ages? You Christian women look at the Hindoo, the Turkish, the Mormon women, and wonder how they can be held in such bondage…

      Now I ask you if our religion teaches the dignity of woman? It teaches us the abominable idea of the sixth century–Augustine’s idea–that motherhood is a curse; that woman is the author of sin, and is most corrupt. Can we ever cultivate any proper sense of self-respect as long as women take such sentiments from the mouths of the priesthood?”

      Like

      • Ruth says:

        Love it! And the answer is, “no, no we cannot.” And if a woman attempts to she is promptly put back in line through whatever means necessary. And if she is not brought into submission then she is to be cast out.

        I do believe it’s time we a grow a set. Brass ones.

        Like

      • makagutu says:

        There is a lady who took this petition to where it belongs in the Abrahamic religions, to god himself

        “Alas, God, why did You not let me be born in die world as a man, so that all my inclinations would be to serve You better, and so that I would not stray in anything and would be as perfect as a man is said to be? But since Your kindness has not been extended to me, then forgive my negligence in Your service, most fair Lord God, and may it not displease You, for the servant who receives fewer gifts from his lord is less obliged in his service.” I spoke these words to God in my lament and a great deal more for a very long time in sad reflection, and in my folly I considered myself most unfortunate because God had made me inhabit a female body in this world.” 1.1.2

        Christine de Pizan (born in 1365 in Venice), The Book of the City of Ladies, first published in 1405

        Like

        • Noel, that is a powerful quote. This is difficult to admit, but I can’t tell you how many tears I shed (when I was a believer) because I was born female. Unless you are a female, indoctrinated by the cruel words of the Abrahamic religions (and Greek philosophers), you cannot understand the shame one is made to feel for being a member of a gender who was mainly blamed for the fall of humankind and Jesus’ suffering and death.

          “In pain shall you bring forth children, woman, and you shall turn to your husband and he shall rule over you. And do you not know that you are Eve? God’s sentence hangs still over all your sex and His punishment weighs down upon you. You are the devil’s gateway; you are she who first violated the forbidden tree and broke the law of God. It was you who coaxed your way around him whom the devil had not the force to attack. With what ease you shattered that image of God: Man! Because of the death you merited, even the Son of God had to die… Woman, you are the gate to hell.” ~ Tertullian,

          “Also, as regards male and female, the former is superior, the latter is inferior, the male is ruler, the female is subject” ~ Aristotle (Politics Bk. 1, Ch. 4)

          Like

          • makagutu says:

            I don’t know what to say except, it is great you are free. Even if there are still hurdles, the fetters imposed by religion no longer hold you personally back unless as a result of those who still think they have a right to control a woman’s life.

            Like

      • makagutu says:

        Thus says the lord is the go by word for finding reasons to enslave woman

        Like

  5. aguywithoutboxers says:

    Excellent point, my friend! Who made man judge over woman? All those theists who had to make up all that silly dogma! Great quote! 🙂

    Like

  6. archaeopteryx1 says:

    …even though you firmly believe that you are acting in the manner best calculated to promote their happiness? – who says?

    Like

  7. Sonel says:

    I think I was a handful in my previous lives because I’m worse now. 😆 No man will or could ever tell me to do what I didn’t want to. I feel sorry for them. 😀

    Great post Mak! Have a great weekend my friend. ♥ Hugs ♥

    Like

  8. charlypriest says:

    I´ll have to check out who in the world is this woman, but her premise is flawed from the beginning. Who said man really had their freedom judge for themselves and achieve happiness … I just don´t see it. Men are enslaved everywhere, child soldiers in Africa, they are forced to fight. Do these guys have either freedom to judge or be happy? I doubt it, in India both man and woman, young kids are sold into prostitution, I can go on with the list of countries but let´s take it back to the western world. Men and women have the same rights under most Western constitutions, you can get into the not equal pay and all that crap but overall I doubt woman are being stepped on by men. Actually now in the U.S, (I´m from Spain) the unemployment population is higher in males than females. Women are in strong positions of power now, as CEO´s, in government agencies, you name any sector and there are women out there gaming the guys. Now if you want 50-50% for every sector that´s impossible since we are different which is not to say we are not equal and that is a good thing. If we where equal, society wouldn´t function. We think differently, emotions are different, our bodies are different and that´s just science saying it not me. So with those different traits woman can do most of the things that man can and others that man can´t do. So it balances out pretty good overall. Perfection is impossible but overall, to me it seems it´s going quite good as of the year 2014. Glad you stopped by my blog, you actually made my two neurons that I have left think! Know I´m feeling tired.
    Good post for a good exchange of ideas.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Maybe you need to check the date of her writing and you will see she was on point on many issues.
      Thanks for your comment and yes, times have changed in many places and women in most places are now treated as human beings with as much rights as their male counterparts.

      Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

