Public service announcement


We interrupt normal broadcast to bring to your attention some news yours truly heard this evening while driving home. A district in Tororo, Uganda through their Constitutional Court has passed a law to abolish bride price for the same reasons I have been advocating and there is an organization[ Mifumi Project] that has petitioned the high court in Uganda to have bride price abolished altogether. This position does not make me famous with the chiquitas in my hood but I will insist that Solon was right when he said marriage should not be contracted for gain or an estate but for pure love, kind affection and birth of children[ if you must- my emphasis].

In other news am watching

Am not a big fan of Dawkins. I am stuck in centuries back and every time I think I am done with them, I still get drawn back. I will update this post once I finish the movie.

 

Thanks Victoria for this video.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

62 thoughts on “Public service announcement

  1. john zande says:

    Why would the women in your neighbourhood desire this?

    Like

  2. And I thought America was ass-backwards. Well, I guess idiocy knows no geographic boundaries. “The Unbelievers” is a fairly entertaining documentary. I enjoyed it. I actually like Dawkins a lot. His book, “The Blind Watch Maker” is superb, as well as many of his other books on evolution.

    Like

  3. One thing is for sure; you are not finding love and kind affection in Kenya. Try Italy.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Don’t you think it is an idea whose time has long come and gone?
      I have been told Brazil is good, and Italy may not be great, the pope’s residence is not so far and you know church rules 😀

      Like

  4. shelldigger says:

    How many brides can I get for a dog and a couple of cats? Oh wait, still have a few chickens too.

    Aww heck with it, I’m headed for Brazil!

    Seriously, it is a good thing this law has been passed. I wonder how tough it will be to get the people to cooperate? What kind of conversations do wed women have there? “I was traded for a cow and 2 goats!” “Well…I was traded for a cow, two goats, and a camel!”

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Forget your dogs, those don’t count. No monetary value around here except for a few people who are making money out of rearing dogs.

      I should enquire. It would be interesting to know when they compare notes.

      Like

  5. aguywithoutboxers says:

    My parents were married in their homeland. This was following the Second Great War (WW2). Their marriage was arranged. I need to ask them if there was a dowry involved. I hadn’t thought about that until I read your post. Hooray for Uganda in abolishing this archaic custom.

    I hope you are well, my friend!

    Like

  6. “Now I believe. I will dust my passport first :D”

    You may be getting that “cuddle time” sooner than expected. Go Noel! 😀

    Like

  7. Great news, Noel. So we know how the chiquitas feel. How are the donkeys taking the news?

    Like

  8. themodernidiot says:

    I was not aware of this practice, but damn glad to hear it is ending!

    Like

  9. Purchasing brides? My goodness…

    Like

  10. Women are for sale everywhere, we are just a commodity to be traded, just methods of payment are different.

    Like

  11. […] friend Makagutu mentioned the abolition of bride price in part of Uganda, ie you pay to buy a […]

    Like

  12. ladysighs says:

    I like Dawkins but can understand why some don’t. Sure has been a lot a criticism of him lately. I am not giving him up. 🙂

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      He receives a lot of criticism especially on twitter where he posts quite a lot. His books are my next year’s reading list.

      Like

      • Let me know what you think of them. He gets criticized because he speaks out against religion and he’s popular and well known for it. Sam Harris gets the same thing. No way to avoid that when you are continually poking the established hornets nest of religion and traditional beliefs. It is also a way to make oneself seem hip, cool, and smart if one bashes Dawkins. “See! I’m WAY better than that guy!!! I sure told him, man!!!! LOOK AT ME!!! He’s a (fill in the blank) but I’m a (fill in the blank)! No way I’d ever be a (blank) like him! What a fool. Things is, anyone can bitch about stuff, but it is Dawkins who puts his neck out there on the block knowing full well the ax-men are just standing there waiting to swing. That takes far more guts than bitching about someone anonymously because of a tweet they made. That’s my two cents and by golly, that’s about all it’s worth!

        Like

  13. fojap says:

    I didn’t know that Kenya still did that. It’s always hard to be at the forefront of change.

    Now, I myself have had luck in France and Mexico, but being female the dynamics are probably different. I’ve never been to Brazil. I had a little romance in Italy, but it was romantic and didn’t include sex. I’ve been told that Italy is a popular destination of women seeking male attention, but I haven’t heard about it the other way around.

    I can’t entirely fault the women by you, though. I sort of know what it’s like first hand to defy social norms and there is a penalty for it. If I’m in a social situation with people I don’t know well, people will say cutting things to me about being unmarried. Fortunately, I’m a little bit unconventional more generally so I don’t meet people like that a lot, but I can see where if I was subject to that on a daily basis it would be really uncomfortable. So, I’m sure those women would take a social hit if they got married without a bride price. You’d have to meet someone who was willing put up with a bit of social ostracism for an ideal. Not many of those, I’m afraid.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      You must have thought so highly of us. I am sorry I have to disappoint you. I am told there are very few families who let their daughters marry whoever they have chosen without so many conditions. I am proud of my old man on this matter. A very forward looking old man.

      I love your personal experiences a lot. Thanks for always being kind to share.

      I agree with you there is always a penalty for defying social norms. I have learnt society will talk regardless. There will always be something to be said. One has to make a decision to live by taking risks or to live in a way that it makes no difference from not living. I know the second option is the easier one and I don’t begrudge anyone who decides to take it but please, stand up and challenge the status quo.

      And yes few people would want to take the risk.

      Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

