Chronicles of YHWH 28: A Metastable Figment


????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Angel Gabriel once found YHWH pacing up and down in his library, deep in thoughts. YHWH seemed deeply distracted and anxious.

Gabriel: Lord, is everything alright? You look a bit pale.

YHWH: I’ve just finished reading “The God Delusion” by Richard Dawkins, Gabriel.

Gabriel: And?

YHWH: I feel terrible now. That book raises some pretty disturbing points. I’m now half convinced that I don’t exist in reality.

Gabriel: But I’m talking to you, right now.

YHWH: What if both of us are figment’s of someone else’s imagination? What if we both only exist in the minds of religious people?

Gabriel: That can’t be. You sent your son to the humans sometime ago, and he appeared to them physically.

YHWH: Sometimes I wonder whether that actually happened. What if that too is a false memory by some of the religious people? After all, my so called “son” left no verifiable proof of his existence down there.

Gabriel: There are billions of Christians down there now. They are enough proof that your son really walked on earth.

YHWH: Dawkins states that the human mind is susceptible to memes – ideas that become viral and spread within a population very fast, if left unchecked. Memes can be based on reality, or on fiction. What if we are a fictitious meme – of a particularly contagious nature?

Slight pause.

Gabriel: Surely, there must be a tangible way of verifying our existence, Lord.

YHWH: I can’t think of any. We are invisible, intangible, and our very nature keeps changing, depending on who is describing us. Some Christians describe us as loving and forgiving, while others describe us as militant and vengeful. Gabriel, what are we, really?

Gabriel: Whoa. Let’s try and live apart from the perceptions and thoughts of these human beings. Let’s try and manifest independently of the human mind.

YHWH: I’ve tried that already, Gabriel. And failed. Apparently, we can’t exist outside human minds. This is terrifying.

Long pause.

Gabriel: I need a stiff drink now.

YHWH: Make that two.

 

N/B: For access to all anecdotes in this series, check out List of all “Chronicles of YHWH” notes.

About Joseph Wahome

Used to the quirky side of life: been there, done that, got burnt, got redeemed, sticking the neck out again, but this time, with some titanium necklaces.

26 thoughts on “Chronicles of YHWH 28: A Metastable Figment

  1. john zande says:

    What a beautiful cancer you are to the god hypothesis.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. makagutu says:

    Make the drinks 3!

    Like

    • Joseph Wahome says:

      Ha ha. Indeed. If immortals existed, and they were invisible and intangible, I’m sure they would be dealing with existential issues daily.

      Like

  3. ratamacue0 says:

    I’m glad you’re numbering these. For some reason, 27 didn’t show up for me in the wp app.

    Like

  4. Maria F. says:

    “Lord, just stop worrying about it (or I’ll go and make another Annunciation at this moment, and you wouldn’t want that). Remember Dawkins also wrote “The Extended Phenotype” for a gene-centric view of life. Humans adapt but at their own expense. All they have to do is throw chimp-like tantrums and fits, and they get all the attention they want. Oh that Darwin was a pretty smart guy after all. I’ve been quite unfair with him. Hey, why don’t we print some “Darwin Bibles” and you’ll see how everything comes back to normal”.

    Like

  5. Maria F. says:

    “Gabe, you must be nuts, Darwin is the reason my son has not been able to return to Earth, and you’re asking me to share my manuscript with him??? I’d rather you make 500 more Annunciations this weekend, and see if at least there’s one of them that can make a “true” comeback.”

    Like

  6. Maria F. says:

    Gabe, get on with it. Do your job. And don’t come back until there’s a Second Coming, and Dawkins and Darwin can stay on Earth as that’s were truly belong. As for me, I’m flying off to dinner! Remember what I told you though!

    Like

    • Maria F. says:

      The Lord was deeply absorbed in His thoughts and speaking to Himself: “No wonder they call me the Heavenly Father. All those people down on earth are “All My Children”. I sent Angel Gabriel to medical school in Oxford to get the best education, and he still has yet to find the true messiah. After all the credit I gave him at Bethlehem, and even gave him wings and doves, he still cannot give me a Second Coming. Hey, it’s 9:00 PM, and “All My Children” is on. Bring me some pop corn Angel Mike”.

      Like

  7. Alex Autin says:

    Oh, oh. This could get bad. No telling what could happen once a god with something to prove gets liquored up.

    Like

    • Joseph Wahome says:

      Ha ha. He might try to stagger out of the human mind once again. And fail, massively. Not even a drunk deity can break out of the human mind.

      Like

  8. You should read Descartes ‘Cogito Ergo Sum’ means I think therefore I am. It will all demolish your illusions.

    Like

  9. Sonel says:

    hahahaha! Great post! I think I’ll join them for that stiff drink as well. 😀
    Great as usual Joe! 😀

    Like

  10. for that you have to go through the book. there are some fundamental things and thoughts and can’t be doubted.

    Like

  11. […] A Metastable Figment: Link. (21st October […]

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

