Thus spake Zarathustra


You remember a few days ago I said I don’t like long posts, I lied ;-P. I will read a long post if it is on a topic that I enjoy and it is well written. So Kate don’t worry, I will read your 1500 word reviews and dogs posts.

Here is a review of Thus spake Zarathustra, a book by Nietzsche. If you haven’t read the book, maybe you should, if you have, read it a second time.

Here is a snippet of the book, Nietzsche is writing about the death of the gods

With the old Deities hath it long since come to an end: and verily, a good joyful Deity-end had they! They did not “begloom” themselves to death: that do people fabricate! On the contrary, they laughed themselves to deathonce on a time!

That took place when the ungodliest utterance came from a God himself: the utterance: “There is but one God! Thou shalt have no other gods before me!” An old grim-beard of a God, a jealous one, forgot himself in such wise: And all the gods then laughed, and shook upon their thrones, and exclaimed: “Is it not just divinity that there are gods, but no God?” He that hath an ear let him hear.

Indulge me, go read it 😀

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

17 thoughts on “Thus spake Zarathustra

  1. Doesn’t look too long to me 😉 I’ll have a look later. I’m trying to read a book for a review that is driving me spare. Some of the English is just unintelligible, so I’m sneaking out for breaks.

    I think my post for tomorrow may come in at below 1500. Not a single review or dog to be seen, but it does refer to Shabbat, which has already started, even as I write.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      It’s 4K plus words, I think but very easy to read.
      Am between deciding whether to read Paradise Lost or Romeo and Juliet…… stop wondering, I hadn’t read them.
      Looking forward to your next post.
      Thank goodness for google- now I know what Shabbat is.

      Like

  2. Alex Autin says:

    I’m not sure if you’re encouraging your readers to read the book itself, or the review of the book. I read it, the book, for the first time about 2 years ago, completely enjoyed it. The review I skimmed over, and while it appears interesting and well written it is a bit too lengthy for me to give it the attention necessary to fully appreciate it.

    Like

  3. aguywithoutboxers says:

    LOL! My Nairobi brother, when I read those words you wrote, in my mind, I thought they were only half-true! I love you all the same, my friend! 🙂 Have a safe weekend!

    Like

  4. ladysighs says:

    I did click on the link. Does that count?

    Like

  5. All right, for you it’s now in the queue .It’s been a long time.

    Like

  6. Mordanicus says:

    There are thin books so badly written, I can’t even struggle page 1. And there thick books so well written, I can’t stop reading.

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

