god is a mental construct


and if you disagree, stand in that corner so you may be counted.

Africa is not a mental construct. That a person hasn’t been to visit doesn’t make it so and making such an argument is fallacious.  If you tried hard enough, you may meet an African or you could locate it[Africa] on a map with imaginary continental boundaries unless if you are an idiot.

The same cannot be said of god. Every theist tells you god exists but can’t tell where is, what it looks like and what it does, that is, almost if not all, will say the nature of god is unknowable

Atheists don’t rely on TRUTH, but only on what is knowable.

Love, beauty and so on are real not in the sense that they are touchable but they can be felt. They represent human emotions or judgement. To call a thing beautiful is to make a judgement on the thing perceived. Beauty isn’t a property of thing.

Numbers, money and most other mental constructs, save god, are representations of things. To compare numbers and gods as representing the same abstract concepts is to me bad reasoning, if we can call it so.

I will not begrudge anyone their faith in green cows, but keep your faith to yourself.

God is just a mental construct? No paycheck for you then

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

42 thoughts on “god is a mental construct

  1. Guess I’m not getting paid, cause I’m with you, Sir: god is a fabrication of the human mind, a very nebulous, weak, and fluid one at that. And, as anyone can tell you, Africa is very real. It’s just south of Mexico. I’m planning on visiting there soon one day. 🙂

    Like

  2. Barry says:

    I agree that that God is a mental construct, because, as you say, most theists will say the nature of god is unknowable. However, many believe they experience the presence of God in a way that is just as real to them as other abstract concepts such as love are. Who am I to say that their experience isn’t real. I might disagree with their interpretation of the experience, but that is a different matter.

    Like

  3. Ain't No Shrinking Violet says:

    I responded to her arguments and tried not to be condescending (it was hard), but I noticed she didn’t post my reply. Perhaps someone should give her the definition of a “mental construct,” because she’s really, really confused.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      I see they are getting on well with SoM, the only insufferable idiot I have met online.
      And she even says she was an atheist and then started to think and could no longer be one. Crazy people

      Like

      • Ain't No Shrinking Violet says:

        I suppose I should be thankful for her post…it had me laughing for 45 minutes (it doesn’t take much to amuse me). I too loved her comment, “I used to be an atheist, but then I THOUGHT” That will keep me laughing all the way through dinner!

        Like

  4. Where do you find them? You are verging on Ark/John territory.

    Anyway Africa exists. I have been there and I can see it on a good day across the Strait of Gib.

    I can’t see a god, I haven’t touched it or chatted to it, or got remotely near it. Unlike Africa.

    Like

  5. archaeopteryx1 says:

    I know nothing about green cows. Purple cows now, are a different story:

    I NEVER saw a Purple Cow,
    I never hope to see one;
    But I can tell you, anyhow,
    I’d rather see than be one.
    ~~ Gelett Burgess ~~
    (1866-1951)

    Like

  6. themodernidiot says:

    I have met many Africans, and they all have the most beautiful souls! I cannot say the same for god. Your move, theists 😉

    Like

  7. Sonel says:

    One day these people will realise that religion was only another way to make money and control and intimidate gullable folks. I haven’t been to Africa yet and I am from South-Africa, so I do know Africa exist. As for this ‘god’ they believe in – they still haven’t shown me any proof and neither did ‘he’.

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

