Further reflections


A while back when I wrote an atheist’s extraordinary evidence, the blog author to whose post I had responded to, did write a 2000 word rebuttal which I saw no need of responding to then, given he had not responded to the argument I had raised in my initial post.

I am not responding to his post but I want to add further insights to my original post.

The entire gamut of evidence the theist has for his belief is; he/she said that god said. When the theist reads the bible, they find written, thus says the lord and believe it to be so. No theist ever says the lord has told me this or that.

And this reminds me of the several times I have seen people gathered at a spot looking into the skies at something someone said they saw. Every person who comes later will swear on the graves of their grandmother that they, too, saw it. This is analogous to how the religious idea spreads.

Lastly, there are no religious/ supernatural experiences just natural/ non religious experiences but given a supernatural explanation. Just the same way, at some point, epilepsy was treated as a possession, so is similar experience given a religious/ supernatural explanation.

Have a pleasant Sunday, you all.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

11 thoughts on “Further reflections

  1. Pleasant Sunday to you, too.

    Like

  2. shelldigger says:

    It’s Sunday already?

    As to your post…yes. We know now what natural disaters are, natural. We know what causes sickness, bacteria and viruses. We know that mental illness is not demonic posession. We know that the earth is not the center of the universe. We know there was never just two people in the human bottleneck. We know there was never a worldwide flud. We know that demons do not go up your nose to make you sneeze. We know how rainbows work. We know what causes an eclipse and how it works. We know so many things that used to be considered supernatural are indeed natural occurences.

    Yet the faithful cling to their myths like flies on a sticky strip. The cure for ignorance is knowledge. The cure for religion is an enlightenment few can muster. Even with the facts widely available. It boggles my mind I tell ya. Boggles.I have the Sunday boggles! I wonder if that is supernatural? Woo woo woo…

    Like

  3. A Guy Without Boxers says:

    So sayeth His Greatness, The Sanctified Holiness Makagutu! LOL! My Nairobi brother and friend, you already know how much I love you! Sorry but I simply couldn’t resist the temptation to tease you. Excellent point and a good Sunday to you, too! Much love and a multitude of naked hugs, buddy! 😉

    Like

  4. exrelayman says:

    Looked over the history of this. So tox Vox says since believers are the many and we are the few, they are right. We are making an extraordinary claim that needs evidence. Believers are not making an extraordinary claim because, daggone it, there are so many of them!

    So, the supernatural is not extraordinary, whereas honest critical skepticism is. It is unnatural to be skeptical of the supernatural.

    Oh, the power of this logic! Sign me up! I have been using my mind to sort through things with critical thinking. I am so mortified!

    Like

  5. “No theist ever says the lord has told me this or that.”
    Noel my friend, I have to contradict you on this one, and respectfully inform you that all along Christianity’s twisted history, virtually ALL hyper-spiritual and/or Pentecostal-like movements have been based on new/fresh divine revelations, oftentimes overruling or “completing” existing scriptures, with results from weird to murderous.

    Like

  6. Elle says:

    be blessed

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

