The believers’ dream


Pierre says to Prince Andrew

If there’s a god and future life, there is truth and good and man’s highest happiness consists in striving to attain them. We must live, we must love and we must believe that we live not only today on this scrap of earth, but have lived and shall live forever, there in the Whole.

I no longer have such a dream. I am earth bound.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

17 thoughts on “The believers’ dream

  1. Sonel says:

    We are too earth bound it seems my friend. Best way to be though. As Victoria’s latest post said so well – we are Critical Thinkers. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “I no longer have such a dream. I am earth bound.”

    If I had any musical talent, I’d write a song with this in the lyrics – in the spirit of John Lennon, of course.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. “Live like this is all there is, because, it is.” Kermit the Frog to Miss Piggy, circa 1983

    Liked by 3 people

  4. So am I, my friend. Let us find our happiness here, on this earth and through our reason; such a happiness is unfailing. Those who depend on what is beyond them for happiness shall readily lose it the moment they lose their imagination.

    Like

  5. shelldigger says:

    I’m not sure how the second half of the first sentence has anything to do with the premise of a god/s. However if there is truth and good, man should consider those his friends.

    I agree we must live and we must love. I’d add that our time here is short, we should make the best of it. And there’s not much sense of looking to the hereafter, just focus on being who you want to be, and treat your children well, they are your legacy.

    I like that better. 🙂

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Many a believer insist that without god there is no truth with a T. That god, if one or several exist, is the ultimate truth and good.
      I agree if there is any truth, then we must seek it

      Like

  6. shelldigger says:

    Truth and good exist without the need of a god. Evil I fear might need a god to condone it. That is to justify it among the hearts of men.

    Most of us might know evil when we see it, most of us as in you and I and those who frequent the places we do. But the gods and their minions are damned good at evil. Indeed they revel in it. For the glory of the gods.

    How fucked up is that? How many battles cries through history call upon the gods? How many people, the last words they hear, are somone invoking their gods? How much blood has run the rivers red for the gods? How many god minions will tell you it was ok cuz it was sanctioned by the gods?

    We need gods like we need more holes in our heads.

    Like

    • rautakyy says:

      I agree. Gods seem very feeble when they constantly seem to require human help to achieve just about anything, unless we are assuming gods created all manner of horrid diseases and natural catastrophies.

      Yet, it is strange how easily people get confused about what is good and what is evil. Even when they should be perfectly able to observe, that the violence they are doing for their gods or simply for their profit is truly harmfull and therefore nothing short of evil. So often people jump to assume that what they fear is evil, even when they fear what they fear, from the very natural reason that they do not know what it is…

      Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

