Just so stories


In this part of the globe, Victor Frankenstein is showing at the movies. I have a particular aversion to watching movies on books I have read or intend to read. 90% of the time I have been terribly disappointed by the scripting and other times scripting and performance.
So you can imagine how much I felt after sitting for almost 120 minutes watching this movie. The only thing it had in common with her book is the name. Victor is a happy fellow all the way. I think it is a movie that should be watched only by those who don’t know the book.
Horror of horrors. I was at this coffee place in the morning with two friends just after a site handover. So these three dudes, dressed to the nines and looking like they have some grey matter are having a conversation loudly. One of them says Obama is the reason terrorists are having a joyride in the world or something close. The same dude then says Trump is what the States need. I looked at him in disbelief. I think everywhere people just want to elect monkeys and then spend their while complaining how bad the president is.
End of story.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

107 thoughts on “Just so stories

  1. Trump as President would be like electing Hitler to run the country, and this time, he’d have access to nuclear weapons. George Bush’s invasion of Iraq did more to help ISIS and terrorism than anything Obama’s done. Trump is a foul, despicable, spoiled brat of a man who was born with a golden rattle handed to him. He cares only about himself and his wealth, not America or the world. America is here to service him in his mind. Those who think differently he hates. As for Frankenstein, I’ve heard the new movie is not very good. Movies will almost always vary from the book, however. They tell in 90 minutes what a book tells in 400 pages. The original Frankenstein movie with Karloff is one of my all time favorites. But, it’s NOTHING like the book. That movie led me to the book which I also love. A good film adaption of a good book, IMO, allows me to enjoy the property twice. So, I don’t mind changes as they’re necessary, film and literature are two different mediums for story telling. I just want the film to be, well, a good film; many times, as you found with Victor Frankenstein, they are not.

    Liked by 3 people

    • makagutu says:

      There was a movie I watched a while back, I can’t recall, which in my view did justice to the book. While I appreciate the difference in medium, the movie should at least deal with the themes in the book.

      How someone would think Trump would be a good president is beyond me.

      The only difference between him and Hitler is who they hate. Hitler Jews Trump Muslims, Mexicans and anyone standing between him and presidency

      Liked by 1 person

  2. fojap says:

    I saw a funny name for Trump just now – “the Orange Ozymandias.”

    Like

  3. john zande says:

    Solaris (the new version) is another film that isn’t even recognisable to the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. basenjibrian says:

    The problem is that there are worse candidates out there than Trump. Carson is as scary, with a soupcon of TOTALLY CERTAIN FAITH (which is all you need). Terrifying man. I think the utterly vile Crus would be bumped off within six months of his election just because he is such a self righteous little prick.

    So, our problems go far beyond Trump. All I need is a Lottery ticket so I can decamp for New Zealand!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Couldn’t agree more. Trump, Carson and the lot are a symptom of those who are supporting them. The ideology of people who truly think men like these would make great leaders of the “free” world is what most scares me. It’s sick and dangerous thinking and is not at all, in my opinion, a sign that America is moving in a positive direction.

      Like

    • makagutu says:

      It seems the GOP has attracted the worst they could get

      Like

    • fojap says:

      And don’t forget how corrupt Clinton is. She’s probably closest to me on a left/right axis these days (she was to the right of me until a few months ago) but she’s so corrupt I have to agree with my friends who are supporting Sanders.

      All the candidates are so bad that “lesser of two evils” no longer sums it up. As I’ve said before, Trump’s appeal lies in desperation.

      Like

  5. shelldigger says:

    Almost every movie I have seen, where I read the book first, disappointed me greatly. The book is always better.

    I do envy my book reading friends. Finding the time to read is a near impossibility at this point in time.

    We need Trump like we need radiation dump sites in our yards.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      My shelldigger friend, you can always spare 10-30 minutes for a book everyday. Especially just before you sleep.
      Trump has many supporters it seems. I am afraid he may win the GOP nomination and if Ds don’t vote, you will have him for president

      Like

  6. from watching this whole Trump thing, I have come to the conclusion most people are idiots. Idiots who want to be told what to do. I don’t know if you have ever watched Gangs of New York, but it’s sickening to see how many of my fellow countrymen are nothing more than Bill the Butcher.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sallybr0wn says:

    So, here’s the issue with politics, to have a different opinion than yours, they must be an idiot! And to compare any US politician to Hitler is shocking to me. Go back and re-read what Hilter did to the jews in concentration camps and tell me if Trump is anywhere close!!!! Those kind of words are why we can’t move forward anymore.

    I am a Trump supporter, I will vote for him. The reason is, he created an empire! Yes he grew up wealthy, so what?! His father loaned him money (most get loans from banks) and Trump built what he has today. He has negotiated deals, created jobs, he has done so much in the private sector. I would love to see how a businessman runs the country and not a career politician.

    I hope I don’t “scare” anyone with my “idiot” brain!

    Like

    • Keeping Muslims from entering the country, even those who are American citizens who’ve traveled abroad, and building walls to keep Mexicans out of the country, help us move forward how? Having Great Britain petitioning to have Trump banned from entering the country because they find him so offensive helps us move forward how? Given the opportunity, Trump would do exactly what Hitler did. Trump is a spoiled rich man who’s despicable views toward minorities are disgusting and shameful. He built nothing himself. His father’s money built it. He did nothing to earn his father’s money. He at least is honest about his hatred of minorities, which I give him kudos for. I find nothing “scary” about you. The discussion is about Trump. It is not about you having an “idiot” brain. Trump will not win the general election but I pray he wins the Republican nomination. The vile, anti-American beliefs that make up this man’s mind need to be exposed more fully. So, please, vote for him. I suggest you read up on how Hitler and his minions gained power in Germany prior to WW2. His rhetoric and the zeal of his followers mirror Trump’s. Trump is an offensive spoiled rotten, rich, arrogant excuse of a human being. That some people in my country choose to support this man saddens me. Perhaps if it were you he wished to place a wall around or ban from entering the country you’d feel differently about him. But, of course, those things could never happen to you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sallybr0wn says:

        If white American women started cutting people’s heads off and throwing grenades at others that are just attending a concert, or if blond women were sneaking across a country’s borders, then I couldn’t and shouldn’t be shocked when a country wants to prevent me and other white female Americans from entering their country . It has NOTHING to do with the color of one’s skin, it’s their actions. We have people crossing our border illegally!! So what if we build a wall.

        I just went to several countries around the world. I couldn’t just walk across their border , I needed a passport, I was checked, I needed a visa for a few places, they even searched my bags. I never complained or thought they hated white women, I obeyed their laws.

        Extreme Muslims are creating havoc across the world, yes we need to make 100% sure that the Muslims we let in have good intentions, because when we are wrong, people die!! It’s better to offend people than to be nice and have citizens die. Again, this has nothing to do with their skin color.

        Maybe if countries got as pissed off at terrorists as they do Trump and banned terrorists from their countries, more people will live!

        So I’m guessing people that borrow money from banks aren’t successful, the bank is… Just as Trump isn’t susseful, only his dad is since he borrowed money from his dad instead of a bank. Do you now hate Hillary because she’s rich or is it you only hate the children of the wealthy, poor Chelsea.

        There’s no point in argueing over your Hitler comment…. It’s a silly statement to call any US politician worse than Hitler.

        Like

        • makagutu says:

          Are all Muslims chopping off people’s heads? I fear for people like you Sally. You seem a decent person but you buy into very silly rhetoric. A rhetoric that is easily shown to be false. Reports show that most of the attacks are carried out by locals who may have been radicalized as others want to claim.

          Liked by 1 person

          • “You seem a decent person but you buy into very silly rhetoric.” Exactly how Hitler was able to gain support and power. Brainwashing by tapping into people’s fears with hateful and grandiose rhetoric. the parallels are quite clear.

            Liked by 1 person

          • makagutu says:

            Yes, you get enough decent people to believe crazy and you are good to go

            Like

          • makagutu says:

            I think so too.
            And the comment on that post?

            Like

          • fojap says:

            I didn’t read the comment. If that’s what they left, I’d hate to see what they deleted.

            Like

          • makagutu says:

            I thought so too. I would shudder at what they deleted

            Like

          • sallybr0wn says:

            No need to fear for people like me, I see the world as it is and not through rose colored glasses. According to Wikipedia 14% of Muslims surveyed support violence against civilians. There are 1.6 billion Muslims, so that is 224 million Muslims that think chopping your head off is justified. I do not want those people in my country. And not all are locals that went radical. The San Bernardino weren’t locals, the Paris attack they found passports from other countries. They just learned Isis has a way to make passports now. It’s time to open your eyes!! Realize the threat is real!

            Like

          • makagutu says:

            Sally, fortunately for both of us, I don’t wear tinted glasses. I look at the world from a slightly more realistic point than you think. We have a population of more than 15% Muslim. They are not chopping anyone’s head. You seem to be unaware of the fact that anyone has the potential to chop of the neighbours head. All you need is to convince them they are different.
            When Rwandans were killing each other, it was not Muslims. All the hutus did was convince a number that the Tutsis were really roaches.
            When Kenyans chopped one another, it was christian against christian.
            Educate yourself. Don’t just buy into any rhetoric you hear.

            Liked by 1 person

          • sallybr0wn says:

            I never said all Muslims are chopping heads off. So I find it easy to believe the Muslims in your country are peaceful ones. I’m saying there are 224 million Muslims that are radical. Look at the damage that a handful did in Paris!
            I do not know enough about Rwanda or kenya to comment. I can only say that none of those incidents moved into other parts of the world.

            Like

          • makagutu says:

            Are Indonesians trying to come to the US en mass? I think their Muslim population is the highest world over. How many Muslims are trying to get to the US?
            You know in all this I have not said your country should not protect its citizens, no all I am saying is think about what you are being told, before you assent to it

            Like

          • sallybr0wn says:

            I don’t care if they are coming here en mass, it only takes one or two. 2 killed 14 people at a Christmas party. 4 brought down 2 towers and killed hundreds. We don’t need a mass amount, a few do the job. These radical Muslims are in war! Mali, Paris, California, they just found a bomb in Geneva Switzerland (I was just there). They want us all to convert to Islam. If you don’t, they will kill you. Do you want to convert?

            Like

          • makagutu says:

            Sally don’t worry, they are not coming after you.

            Like

          • sallybr0wn says:

            You and I are infidels, they want us both dead. Let’s hope we have better luck than they have.

            Like

          • makagutu says:

            I will kill myself shortly before they do, they can’t have that last pleasure.

            Like

          • sallybr0wn says:

            Unless you’re at a cafe with friends and one opens fire.

            The female that killed people in San Bernardino California, looking at her social media accounts, she posted quite a bit online about what she wanted to do, and my country still let her in.

            Like

          • makagutu says:

            That, Sally, is a problem that needs to be discussed. Insisting that borders be closed while America and other countries are busy dropping bombs in Syria and I don’t know where else is plain irresponsible. It is indefensible to any person with some sense of justice

            Like

          • sallybr0wn says:

            We have every right to close our borders! No country has to let anyone into their country especially during war. If the Muslim countries got control over the radicals, the western countries wouldn’t have to bomb anyone. We are tired of jihadist coming into our countries and killing our citizens all in the name of their false god !

            Like

          • makagutu says:

            Then first of all, petition your government to stop dropping bombs in Syria. That way they can’t claim they are running away from your bombs. And while at it, the drones in Pakistan, Afghanistan and elsewhere that kill so many people should be recalled, then and only then can you say you have nothing to do with the current crisis.
            Your country seems to me to go to war for a false god too anyway. Oil or your christian values or as others claim to spread democracy around the world. It is hypocrisy on your part to claim Muslims are killing Americans when you seem to be doing that quite well on your own without external help.

            Liked by 1 person

          • sallybr0wn says:

            Our drones are targeting terrorist leaders, so I have no issue with them killing those people at all. Since the Muslim countries are having a hard time controlling their radicals, other countries have to step in and do it. As soon as these radicals stepped out of their country and attacked citizens in another nations, I’m perfectly fine with targeting their radicals.

            We do a lot of nation building too. Building schools, roads, train their people to live better lives. Now I’m also perfectly fine with pulling back all of our troops and all of our money too. No more aid from the US. Let me guess, the world wants our money and our aid when they are hurting or starving, but think we have no right defending ourselves from a group of people that hate our freedoms. A group of people that think I, as a woman, have less rights than a 15 year old boy. That I can be raped if I’m not married. I do not want those sort of people coming into my country. So maybe the world should petition these radicals to move forward and give all their citizens equal rights and stop killing those that oppose them.

            Like

    • makagutu says:

      Many times yes.
      I will supply two examples; many people voted for the current clowns in government. They haven’t stopped complaining how wasteful the government is. They have made graft a national pastime. The president is a visiting president.
      Hitler convinced the Germans that if only the Jews can be kept away, Germany will shine. There are several parallels with what Trump is proposing. You seem to be looking only at the gas chambers and avoiding all other parallels.
      By all means vote for him. I wouldn’t stop you or anyone else but I can say my piece about what I think of him and his supporters.
      Lastly, sally, idiot brains don’t scare me as much as they worry me.

      Liked by 2 people

      • sallybr0wn says:

        Hitler didn’t just convince the Germans to keep the jews out, he brainwashed them with movies and propaganda that the jews were less than human. Trump had not done anything close to that. He wants immigrants to come into our legally and to heavily check Muslims coming into our country. Since radical Muslims are the ones killing, raping, but treating women as equals, kills gays, maybe it’s sensible to make sure we let in moderate Muslims and not radical ones.

        When people oppose your opinion, they are not idiots. And one shows their lack of free thinking when they cant respect opposing opinions. Instead of worrying about those that oppose your opinion, maybe worry about those that want to kill you because u don’t believe in their Allah.

        Like

        • makagutu says:

          Is there a way of telling this person is going to be a radical Muslim? You say very strange things Sally.

          Like

        • makagutu says:

          I respect decent. I have not attacked your person even when we disagreed on your position on guns.
          It is also part of that free thinking to call an opinion idiotic.
          I worry about anyone who wants to kill me for an ideology. I am more likely to be killed by a drunk driver than a Muslim. And the drunk driver is most likely a Christian

          Liked by 1 person

          • sallybr0wn says:

            You didn’t, but two respondents did call Trump supporters either idiots or the way they think worries them.

            I have a bigger chance of being killed in a car wreck, does that mean I leave my house unlocked? No, we protect ourselves from all dangers, not just one!

            Like

          • makagutu says:

            I have left my house unlocked quite a few times.
            A dedicated thief would rob if he set to do it, I sometimes prefer to make it easier for them.

            Like

          • sallybr0wn says:

            I have children, so I lock my house to protect them and myself while I sleep. I do not care about my items, I care about our lives. People do kidnap and rape, I do my best to not be a victim.

            Like

          • makagutu says:

            I understand that fully well. That was said as a jest.

            Liked by 1 person

    • Peter says:

      Sally, it is good that you feel free to express your views. I am Australian so don’t know as much about Trump as you would. We had a similar business man, Clive Palmer, gain prominence in Australian politics for a while. This might give you a feel for him

      From a distance Trump looks like a scary prospect.

      Like

      • sallybr0wn says:

        Thank you for the link, I’ll look into it. U have to realize the media is left leaning, so they make most Republican politicians look scary and extreme.

        I think because Trump has a lot of Democrats as friends and associates and knows how to make deals, he will be a good president. I think he says extreme things publicly, but behind closed doors he’s more civil and wants success. And that requires working with everyone and not being so polarizing. That’s why I’m curious about him.

        I don’t agree with Hillary’s political viewpoints. But I have a huge issue that she was in a top cabinet position and felt she was above the law and had her own email server. I would prefer Sanders over Clinton. But most here in the blog will vote for Clinton despite the email scandal and the threat to national security that caused.

        Like

      • fojap says:

        I don’t support Trump, but our immigration system is dysfunctional. It’s been dysfunctional for well over a decade now and no one seems to be willing to do anything about it. No one seems to want to look at the conditions that have given rise to Trump. They matter more than Trump himself. If you had told me a decade ago the Republicans would be falling in love with a flamboyant, liberal (former) Democrat from New York I wouldn’t have believed you. Because of his past beliefs, many people have suggested that Trump is secretly a Hillary supporter who is undermining the Republicans. That seems too bizarre to believe, but I can see why people think so. I’ve lived in New York since the eighties, and while Trump was always a character, he was not conservative.

        Here’s a long article about immigration in the U.S. which might explain why people are unhappy. The writer is a moderate conservative who is from Canada. (He could be a U.S. citizen now, I’m not sure.) His mother was a well-known Liberal Party politician in Canada.
        http://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2015/12/refugees/419976/

        As I’ve said elsewhere on this thread, I’d be happy enough with an immigration policy modeled on Canada’s. Ours is nothing like that. Frankly, I find ours to be somewhat bizarre. I’ve had multiple boyfriends who couldn’t move here and I’ve known other people who have had significant others overseas who couldn’t come. Frum mentions the family reunification, but as I understand it our version is much more extensive than Canada’s. It’s not just minor children and the like, but other relatives can come over. Canada’s is very limited by comparison. (I emigrated to Canada, which is why I keep referring to their laws. I sort of know them.)

        Like

    • fojap says:

      I’ve missed where anyone’s called Trump supporters “idiots,” but maybe they did. This thread has gotten long.

      I don’t support Trump, but I can relate to the fact that his supporters feel frustrated with our political class. It’s been disappointing to me, although not unexpected, that rather than looking at Trump’s success and trying to understand its appeal, many people in that class, including the people who write about politics, just want to dismiss his supporters as idiots. Although I am not against immigration generally, I have told friends privately for years that one thing that frustrates me about the left’s position on immigration is that they can’t seem to accept the basic idea that our immigration policy should be first and foremost about what’s good for the citizenry of the United States. David Frum wrote a very good article on our immigration policy in the Atlantic. Many of the commenters here are not from the U.S. and they may not be aware of what our immigration policy actually is. It is very, very different than that of Canada or Australia. I’m a little bit familiar with Canada’s and I would be very happy to see the U.S. adopt a similar policy. If anyone thinks that’s xenophobic, then I would appreciate it if they would consider all Canadians equally xenophobic. In the U.S., our immigration policy seems to serve the interests of the wealthy who want cheap labor.

      On the other hand, I do have to ask myself how effective Trump will be once he is in office. Business success does not necessarily translate into governing skills. Let’s not forget that he would still have to work with congress to pass legislation. I just did a quick look on Google, and there are some articles from the 2012 election cycle about whether or not businessmen make good politicians. Here’s one: http://thehill.com/blogs/congress-blog/presidential-campaign/262749-history-shows-businessmen-make-bad-presidents

      I haven’t had a chance to read them. My own experience tends to lean towards the notion that different jobs require different skill sets. If Trump had previously been governor or something else, I would feel much better about him.

      As far as comparing him to Hitler is concerned, I do think that’s just plain silly, but at this point I ignore most of those comparisons. There’s a reason why people talk about “Godwin’s Law.” You’re right, we need to have a discussion about some of these issues without calling each other names. However, real questions have been raised about the practicality of Trump’s proposals.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sallybr0wn says:

        Very well said!!! I’ll read the link u sent. I’m just not impressed with the route we have been going on with electing career politicians. I feel they go into politics with a viewpoint and aren’t willing to work with the other side. All they do is demonize the other side and nothing gets accomplished.
        I would love to see more people from the private sector serve a couple of terms in government, then return to their job. These people will understand what normal people go through and aren’t in their “government bubble”.

        I found this group of bloggers because I left my faith. I’m quite surprised at how much they bash those that are Christians but are defending Muslims! Radical Christians don’t support gay marriage, radical Muslims think gays should be killed. Christians tell non believers they will go to hell, radical Muslims want to kill those that don’t believe in Allah. Christians believe man should be head of the house, radical Muslims think women do not have any rights, they can’t drive and they can’t go anywhere without a man. Ya, I see why there is more hatred for Christianity than Islam.

        Like

        • makagutu says:

          I only hope your politics and politicians are different.
          From my experience, it really makes no difference whether it is a career politician or business person. Our parliament has career lawyers, engineers and doctors and trust me, they are just as bad as career politicians.

          Like

  8. Peter says:

    I had assumed that Trump’s presidential bid would self destruct given my assessment of his character. I am fearing now that it might had more legs than I had expected.

    Speaking as someone from outside the U.S., if Trump really believes what he says (hopefully he is actually smarter than he appears), then it would be a dangerous time for the world indeed.

    In regard to Carson, does he really think the ancient Hebrews built the Pyramids to store grain? Surely not, that fails on so many levels. Though given Carson is a YEC he has showed that critical thinking is not his forte.

    Like

  9. fojap says:

    By the way, many people are starting to assume the Republicans will have a “Brokered Convention.” Basically, during primary elections only members of the party can vote. What people elect are delegates who go to the convention where the delegates vote for the candidate. Normally, the delegates are pledged to cast their vote for a particular candidate, the one the voters in their area chose. However, if no one candidate has enough delegates to win, the delegates are “released” from their pledge to vote for a particular candidate. The delegates are generally chosen from among people who are heavily involved in party politics, more so than the rank and file members. (That’s a quickie summary off the top of my head and it may be inaccurate and I’ve left out things like “super delegates.”) As I see it, a brokered convention would be to the disadvantage of the less conventional candidates, in this case Trump and Carson.

    My own prediction right now is that it will be Cruz, although Rubio might still have a shot.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      If i get this correctly, Trump may be popular nationally but still lose at the convention?

      Like

      • fojap says:

        If the vote is close, yes. Remember that the parties are just that, parties. I’m not entirely sure what their relationship is to general election laws, but until the seventies or eighties the delegates weren’t even obliged to vote for the person elected in their state. (Some states are proportional and some are “winner take all.”) I have some vague recollection of the 1980 Democratic Convention. There was a big fight. Ted Kennedy thought he could win it at the convention even though the didn’t win at the polls. In fact, 1980 still give Democrats nightmares. About a year or so ago online I said something about how much I hate Clinton and people came back at with me with “We don’t want a repeat of 1980.” Carter lost and a lot of people blamed it on the mess of the convention. I don’t know the details. I was too young.

        Now, I’m writing off the top of my head, so there’s almost certainly inaccuracies, but over the decades the parties have become more democratic. There hasn’t been a major fight at a convention since. Kennedy didn’t succeed, so the last brokered convention I believe was 1976. I just looked that up. It was 1952. 1976 was close. So, it’s rare. But remember, Trump is not an establishment candidate. He was a Democrat until recently. He’s given money to Hillary Clinton in the past. So the people who run the party are not behind him.

        The Constitution never provided for political parties, so whatever they do exists outside of the official system.

        “The group of unpledged delegates, also known as superdelegates, generally comprising current and former elected officeholders and party leaders, are free to vote for any candidate they wish at the convention.”

        So, this leaves things up in the air if voting results are close.

        “In recent elections, the eventual nominees were known well before the actual conventions took place. The last time a major party’s nominee was not clear before the convention was in 1976, when incumbent president Gerald Ford narrowly defeated Ronald Reagan.”

        Some states, like Iowa, have caucuses, not primaries.

        Like

  10. Something I’d forgotten about Herr Trump, his four bankruptcies. Born with a golden rattle, becomes a greedy spoiled brat, then gets to borrow billions of dollars of other people’s money and get out of paying it back four times. Lovely. Trump claims filing bankruptcy is a great business decision: “Hundreds of companies” have filed for bankruptcy, Trump said earlier….. “I used the law four times and made a tremendous thing. I’m in business. I did a very good job.” This is from the first Republican debate held in September, I believe.
    How much of a great job could many of us do if we could borrow billions of dollars, start businesses, then not have to pay it back because we go bankrupt–four times. Excellent business model, for a spoiled, selfish brat. I guess Trump is different from Hitler in some ways. He hasn’t wiped out the minority groups he hates, yet. As well, Trump is a fascist who’s interested only in himself; Hitler, as sick as he was, actually believed he was helping Germany. Trump is honest, though. He’s up front about his hate. I admire that in him. Most politicians aren’t that honest. When asked if it bothered him that people compared him to Hitler, Trump said no. Of course not, why would he dislike being compared to someone he emulates? That would be just plain silly.

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

