The war song of an atheist priest


I would have very much loved to do a review of this book by Messlier, but I am afraid I wouldn’t do him justice. His arguments against the gods, against tyranny of the princes is astounding.
But don’t lose heart, I will share a small part from the conclusion, it’s beautiful.

I would like to be able to make my voice heard from one end of the kingdom to the other, or rather from one extremity of the earth to the other. I would cry out with all my force; O men, you are crazy! You are crazy to let yourselves be led in this way and to believe so blindly in so many stupidities.
[ ] religion and politics are united in cooperation to hold you always captive under their tyrannical laws.
Banish from your minds this crazy and blind belief in its false mysteries, put no faith in it, mock everything your self interested priests tell you.
Set your minds and hearts completely at ease in this matter and banish all these vain and superstitious offices of priests and sacrificers, and reduce them all to living and working usefully like you, or at least to being busy in something good and useful

Jean Messlier

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

17 thoughts on “The war song of an atheist priest

  1. ladysighs says:

    I have never heard of this man which means nothing as I am not well read. But it is unbearable to think that his complete testament was not translated into English until 2009 or so I read. What mental torture to be a religious man and not be able to express your thoughts for fear of life and limb. I think of today’s clergy in the US who want to proclaim the sacred words to be absolute nonsense, but don’t because they have to support themselves and their families.
    I will be reading more about Meslier and hope you include more about him in your blog.

    (Just don’t make it too long.) LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • makagutu says:

      Voltaire made him a deist. D’Holdbach made him an atheist but did not present all of his thoughts.
      I don’t know how he did his work with all the thoughts in his head.
      I like how he refers to Christians- godchrist cultists is what he calls them.
      There may just be short snippets once in a while to make a specific point

      Liked by 1 person

  2. john zande says:

    O men, you are crazy! You are crazy to let yourselves be led in this way and to believe so blindly in so many stupidities.

    Amen

    Liked by 2 people

  3. A pretty strong argument in favor of Thomas Jefferson’s secular “wall of separation” between church and state.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. tildeb says:

    You forgot to add a trigger warning about the quoted author’s use of the term ‘crazy’. For that I’m afraid I must ban you. Oh, wait, I must ban Messlier first, and then I will ban you … except Jean’s already published and I don’t have administrative rights on this blog.

    Damn. My snowflake power is fading…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. j.h. white says:

    In our recorded history there seems to always have been people who are in a position of manipulation. And manipulation works. Isn’t this the issue? Why are we so easily manipulated? It obscures all the real considerations

    Like

  6. shelldigger says:

    Oh hell yes! I have often said priests should get REAL jobs! And quit living off of the gullible. It sickens me every time I think on it.

    …they paint themselves as the impeccable piety. They polish their routines like used car salesmen. (they are after all salesmen in the business of selling afterlife insurance policies that no one can verify actually get paid.) They have the walk, the talk, the slick of professional con men.

    Did I mention how sick these people make me? Get a REAL JOB!

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

