A lady’s lament to god


Alas, god, why did you not let me be born in the world as a male, so that all my inclinations would be to serve you better, and so that I would not stray in anything and would be as perfect as a male is said to be?  But since your kindness has not been extended to me, then forgive my negligence in your service most fair Lord God, and may it not displease you, for the servant who receives fewer gifts from his lord is less obliged in his service.

Christine de Pizan

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

15 thoughts on “A lady’s lament to god

  1. Scottie says:

    I love it and it gets the point across very well. Hugs

    Like

  2. fojap says:

    Are you reading City of Ladies?

    Like

  3. ladysighs says:

    What an amazing gal. I read more about her. Thanks for introducing her. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shelldigger says:

    Ha! I bet the omniscient one didn’t see that coming!

    Like

  5. Dont tell me she combines feminism and atheism? Or at the very least, scepticism? Six hundred years ago, and where are we now? No, don’t answer.

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

