On free will


I think this quote below best illustrates how the freewill proponents see it. It is from one of the essays by Voltaire.

He writes 

I neither will to make my nest nor the contrary; it is a matter of complete indifference to me; but I am going to will to make my nest solely for the sake of willing, and without being determined to do it in any way, merely to prove that I am free.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

4 thoughts on “On free will

  1. Free from, or of, what? Do birds chose to make nests because they’re free to or because it’s determined by their nature of being birds? Human beings act and behave like human beings. There’s nothing “free” about it. And once again, I must ask, at what age exactly, if it exists, does the “will” of a human become free? One month? The zygote stage? 1 year? When? Does a child who’s taught, from birth, that its will is NOT “free” have a will that is “free” of this life-long lesson? Can a female fetus of an Asian couple “freely” use its “will” to become a male fetus of an Hispanic couple? If not, is its will really “free”? I think people confuse sentience and awareness of living to be a “freedom” of will. We’re no “freer” of being exactly who and what we are than a bird is of being what it is. We are an aggregate of every environmental and biological variable that makes us us. I’ve neither seen nor heard anything remotely convincing to the contrary. As a matter of fact, the need for some to believe in “free will” is as determined and predictable as all other facets that make the human animal human. Now, I do have four wills for sale at 5 bucks a piece, so, if you want one, send me the five bucks and I’ll send you it via Holy Spirit express.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Swarn Gill says:

    Voltaire was so conditioned to come up with ideas like that. πŸ™‚

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

