Spinoza on miracles


Though I disagree with most of what Spinoza says, I think he is close to truth when he writes

I have shown that scripture does not explain things by their secondary causes, but only narrates them in order and style which has most power to move men, and especially uneducated men, to devotion; and therefore it speaks inaccurately of god and of events, seeing that its object is not to convince the reason, but to attract and lay hold of the imagination.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

16 thoughts on “Spinoza on miracles

  1. sarahngima77 says:

    Especially uneducated men… is this to say that the message of the cross is foolishness, and if indeed it is, It is foolishness to those who are perishing.

    Like

  2. Another fascinating quote from Spinoza.

    Like

  3. koppieop says:

    (scripture) …narrates in order and style which has most power to move men, and especially uneducated men, to devotion…

    In the case of uneducated persons, that is called brainwashing because, in principle, the listeners ARE capable of developing some kind of scepticism, and can come to use their reason.
    In the case of children, however, I think that the virginity of their brains prevents them for criticizing what their parents and teachers tell them. That is what I would call brainforming. .-

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      I find nothing you have said that I can disagree with. I could only add that to many people the bible is passed as fact from a very young age and as they grow up, questioning its stories is not encouraged

      Liked by 1 person

  4. shelldigger says:

    This Spinoza had a good set of eyes.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Yes in some areas, not all.
      How are you buddy?

      Like

      • shelldigger says:

        I am well sir. I guess…

        I think I mentioned I have adopted another boat in need of restoration. Have been working on it in spurts, the heat has been horrendous. So anytime it clouds up a little I run out there and try to get something done. Even in short bursts and under cloud cover the heat is such you get soaked with sweat down to your knees in a short time. I had to take a day off yesterday and recuperate.

        I have a blog thing that probably needs to be weeded and looked after…I’ll get to it I swear!

        Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

