Who said there is no evidence for god


Now that I have your attention, why do internet scammers display a lack of tact. For example I got this mail a few days ago, notice I get many of them,

May the peace of God be with you and your family.

I know it will be a great surprise reading from me today but consider this a divine intervention as a pastor explained to my understanding. My name is Mrs.Β Teresa Stang, a widow from Oklahoma USA and am writing you from my sickbed because i have been fighting cancer.

I will tell you more about myself and what you need to do with the money once your receive it. Please write me soon as my health is pretty bad and my doctors says i will be moved to the intensive care unit anytime soon.

Have a blessed day and please do pray for me.

God bless you.

Mother Teresa Stang

And why would she believe the pastor if the same god failed to keep her from not having cancer?

If you have read this far, thank you, I didn’t have a better way of saying I have nothing better to write πŸ™‚ and that there will be intermittent postings for the next few days.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

49 thoughts on “Who said there is no evidence for god

  1. tildeb says:

    I don’t think anyone ever lost money making scam appeals to the most addled among us, namely, the religiously devout. Critical thought that contains skepticism is the defense against such silly scams but obviously neither is in much supply if you are religious.

    Like

  2. Charity says:

    They’ve seen this con work for televangelists, preachers and missionaries for decades, so, why not?

    Neil Carter has a recent post calling anti-theists “turds”. This scamming bull shit is yet another reason as to why I’m a turd. πŸ’©

    At some point people have got to decide to not allow others to swindle them, robbing them of their sanity, health and material possessions. That’s not going to happen when even atheists justify religion like it’s a good thing.

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      I keep asking if these scammers never get tired.
      I think most of the atheists who make excuses for religion, believe almost as I do, that eliminating religion without dealing with the factors that make it prosper will not amount to much. Access to education, to resources and a possibility to earn a good living among many others are conditions that must first be met.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Charity says:

        I understand your point. I believe that if everyone deconverted at the same time we would see a great deal of suicide, murder and uprisings. I know what it did to me and I took my time to leave. However, I do want to see a step forward away from religion. I don’t know if that’s possible where I live in the US.

        Like

  3. I’m going to start sending emails to christians asking them to send me their babies because god wants me to eat them. Now, won’t that be fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ubi Dubium says:

    In the US we call this the “Nigerian scam”, because it so often is claiming to originate there. In Africa is this the “American Scam”? Or do you have a different nickname for this?

    Like

  5. If the person is asking you to send money to the U.S., you can file a complaint with the FBI. They actually are trying hard to crack down on schemes like this.

    Like

  6. Ron says:

    For shame! How can you distrust Mother Teresa? The closing “God bless you” alone is enough to establish her sincerity.

    Like

  7. hmmm, no amount mentioned? Well, in any case, a widow in Oklahoma with cancer won’t have much. πŸ˜›

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Maybe she has inheritance from several family generations and she is the last on line. Why would she not give the pastor the money to use on mission or something. At least she knows the pastor

      Like

  8. shelldigger says:

    Awww, the poor old lady trick lol!

    Umm, so she wants to tell you how to spend the money you will never see? That’s an interesting twist.

    Last time I got an obvious scam attempt (rich prince who needed a bank account here) I wrote back that it costs a lot of $$ these days to establish a bank account. If they would send me $500 that ought to cover it πŸ˜‰ Haven’t seen any rich Nigerian prince scams since.

    Like

  9. john zande says:

    Is that the whole letter?

    Like

  10. I might’ve been more appreciative of Mother Teresa Stang’s email if it had simply said this instead:

    May the god of peace be with you and your family.

    But, then again, there isn’t one.

    Like

  11. atheistsmeow says:

    I have gotten several of these in my junk email…..even the same wording.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Barry says:

    As an admin of a mail server, I see dozens of this type of scam every day. Most appeal to greed – getting something for nothing. Even those that pretend to have God’s blessing, the blessing is only there to sweeten the deal. This one is a little different in that it doesn’t mention what’s in it for you. I process mail for .com and .nz domains, and i notice there are notable differences between the two types of domain. Just over 83% of scams to .com addresses mention God, even if it’s just a “God bless”, whereas to .nz addresses, it’s just 16%. Perhaps scammers are smarter than we give them credit for. After all, they wouldn’t be doing it if it wasn’t profitable.

    Like

  13. basenjibrian says:

    There are entire COUNTIES in the United States-primarily in the Great Plains (South Dakota, Nebraska, etc.) which are basically “drying up” in all respects-population, economy, socially, draining of million year aquifers.

    Maybe settling semi-arid western Nebraska with farmers was a mistake?

    Like

  14. Real real me says:

    Looks like this person is so desperate that she send e-mails to every address she knows. Instead of doing it, she can pray herself….
    The “Mother Theresa” was the most entertaining to me.
    And of course I read the entire text… πŸ˜‰

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

