On a very light note


In the recent past, subscriptions to this humble blog have spiked quite a bit. I don’t know if the same has happened to the views. We will not check for we don’t like disappointments. To welcome all the new subscribers and to remind all the old subscribers that you all are cherished, I will share a poem by Abu al-Ala al-Maarri (this is where you search who he was :-)]

Lo! There are many ways and many traps

And many guides, and which of them is Lord?

For verily Mahomet has the sword

And he may have the truth-perhaps! Perhaps!


Now this religion happens to prevail

Until by that religion overthrown, –

Because men dare not live with men alone

But always with another fairy tale

 

Religion is a charming girl, I say

But over  this poor threshold will not pass

For I may not unveil her, and alas!

The bridal gift I can’t afford to pay.

Happy weekend everyone.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

10 thoughts on “On a very light note

  1. Great poem and love your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shelldigger says:

    Interesting poem.

    Wait? This is a blog? 😉

    One of the best around too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the poem. You have a great weekend too.

    Like

  4. basenjibrian says:

    Great Poem, Great Blog, and do some serious cycling among the tea plantations!

    (We don’t have tea, alas. Just vineyards. 🙂 )

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Vineyards must be scenic with the opportunity to branch into a winery for a glass of wine 🙂
      Thanks my friend. I like it much more when you question my conclusions. You make me interrogate them further

      Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

