Do these people read?


I mean the SoMs and Insanity of this world? How else is such ignorance justified in the world with the internet?

They should have come across this quote misattributed to that great ruler, Marcus Aurelius. 

Those who can stand the nonsense Insanity and SoM write daily do a great service to humanity. Maybe someday Violetwisp will bring them closer to the 20th century in thought. They are stuck in the 8th or 9th century.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

26 thoughts on “Do these people read?

  1. I don’t see the point in discussing anything with them. It’s like being trapped in an endless Kafkian nightmare.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shelldigger says:

    Gah! Why on earth would you send me there? I thought we were friends!

    SOM and his ilk absolutely grate my spine, with the pretentious know it all attitude about nothing. Such an insulting, disrespectful, projectionist, steaming pile of B.S. is all that streams forth from their pie holes.

    I do wonder though what happens if you get two of those kind of people in the same room?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. john zande says:

    I still think SOM is a brilliant example of Poe’s Law

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reading the lovely words of SoM is akin to having hot pokers placed firmly into one’s eye sockets until they reach the back of your skull and protrude from it, allowing what’s left of your brain to ooze out of the holes they create.

    Like

  5. atheistsmeow says:

    Not heard of them, but after these comments, I won’t check as I have better things to do with my time.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. rautakyy says:

    It might very well be, that neither of them has ever really read the Bible at least. Nor should anybody need to, but as so many people are willing to claim that they base their moral values on the book, they at least should read it before making the descision to do so. I would expect far less people would find it in any way moral if they were first to read it before judging it as some sort of source for ultimate morals. However, that is not the order in wich this is done.

    I do not know about those two, but if I ever should hazard a guess on the subject, it might be, that they are among the vast majority of believers who decided that the Bible represents some deeper truth before even trying to really read it. Possibly like so many others at an impressionable age or in a voulnerable emotional situation. Maybe I should simply ask them? Would they answer the direct question? It seems to me, that they do not really like to answer straight forward questions. As if they felt every question, that uses logic to confront their misunderstanding about any issue, was some sort of trap. I however have had interresting discussions with them, because for me theirs is an alien way of thinking and they help me to understand the motives of so may like them, that to me seem totally illogical.

    To many a religious mind the holy books and reliance on them is part of their identity, so very much so, that they fear to even question the idea, even when they clearly see it flies in the face of logic. It is kind of understandable, that if a person ties her/his identity so closely to a personal relationship they experience with an invisible and inaudible god, to question such would amount to questioning their own sanity and sense of security. I have never been a religious believer, so I do not really know, but this is how the issue represents itself to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • makagutu says:

      I am certain most of them haven’t read it. I had a friend tell me they base they base their morals on the bible so I asked when was the last time they stoned a child for disobedience? The answer I got was that they really haven’t read the bible much. How then could he claim to draw his morals from it?

      Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

