on the death penalty


Mick asked me to comment on this post. I hope he will not mind me doing it here.

Mick says prison these days is not punishment. In his own words

As soon as I walked in I could feel the tight suffocating atmosphere. I could instantly tell suffering had took place here for any crimes.  The rooms were small and some with no windows. The inmates had to work hard just for their breakfast.

prisons should be made in this way and this reminds me of Jean Valjean in Les Miserables. I sympathized with him, hated him and then loved him. Did prison make him a better person or a worse person? How did society treat him?

Mick tells us

They should be wiped out and took out of life so we don’t have to care for them. This will free up space in prisons with people of lesser crimes.

and

If someone had murdered someone close to me I don’t see jail as justice not in the modern day.

I hope he will be willing to kill the perpetrator himself and not defer the punishment to the government. I want him to choke the murderer to death. Or stone him to death or maybe burn him at the stake and then write about how he feels about it. No lethal injection or firing squad. Him and the offender.

He makes allowance, wait for it

I understand rapists and thieves etc should be given second chances etc but murderers especially cold brutal murderers should be put to sleep.

I am confused. I thought he was all out for execution for criminals. Why does he give rapists a second chance but not murderers?

I would love Mick to tell me his views on war.

I do not support capital punishment.

I don’t know what I would do were I in a situation where I was face to face with a person who had murdered one of my family members or friends. If, for example, they had killed them with a knife and they court told me I can kill him too but with a knife, would I do it? I think not.

Is capital punishment preferred because it is the government doing the killing on our behalf or would we still want it if we were to do the killing ourselves? What does it make of us?

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

101 thoughts on “on the death penalty

  1. Forgot to comment on this one my friend. I did think it might be a tad controversial.

    First, I don’t agree with the death penalty. At all. It is gross, barbaric and uncivilised. Who are we all to determine someone’s life?

    Second, someone who has been raped, assaulted, possibly left for dead may still be alive but do they have a life? PTSD? I’m not arguing for the death penalty, but sexual assault of any type is not a quick five minute shag/assault for someone to get up the next morning feeling AOK.

    Third, what Sirius said. If you kill ONE innocent person then that system is flawed.

    Fourth, I think Mick referred to the Yorkshire Ripper in his post, who was on his (UK) killing spree when I was in my late teens. Extremely nasty evil piece of work (God told him to do it mind so that’s OK). He’s currently got a whole life tariff, ie will not be released from gaol. That’s good enough for me.

    Five, I heard a radio programme years ago. It was based on different attitudes to crime. The people who wanted revenge couldn’t move on. The ones who accepted the crime, got past the vengeance were actually in a better state of mind. Whether I could do that is another matter, but still interesting. I wouldn’t seek a death penalty. What I might wish on them …

    Liked by 3 people

    • makagutu says:

      Mick’s treatment of rape looked to me so casual. Is it even possible to forget? Is it possible to heal completely?
      Maybe the greater question, especially for the proponents of the death penalty is what do they think a civilized society should do with such offenders.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think any type of abuse is difficult to get over, let alone rape.
        I read a post at the weekend where the author was advocating capital punishment for rapists of women and murderers of women. (Think she’d been raped, at least once.) The issue with rape and other sexual assault is that the criminal serves X number of years and then moves on. But their victims?
        When I was in the civil service I was chatting to a prison governor and she was telling me their job was to ensure rehabilitation, may have been an open prison though. But that doesn’t work for whole life tarif prisoners who won’t be seeing the light of day again.
        Difficult issue. But just as I don’t agree with murder, I can’t say it is up to society to determine whether someone should be killed. Very nasty.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Barry says:

    As there is no guarantee that every guilty verdict will always be correct, I don’t see how the death penalty can ever be justified.

    The death penalty doesn’t serve as a deterrent, so it serves no use for that purpose.

    Here in Aotearoa New Zealand the only sentence for murder is life imprisonment with a minimum ten year non-parole period. Most murders are spur of the moment acts carried out in a moment of anger/passion and are not premeditated. The odds of someone committing another murder is extremely small. For those who pose a potential risk to society, parole can be withdrawn.

    For repeat offenders of “lesser” crimes judges here have the option of giving preventative detention which effectively means being detained indefinitely until such time the offender can prove to the court that he is no longer a danger to society.

    Liked by 2 people

    • makagutu says:

      Serial killers must be kept out of society. They are a threat to the peace.
      Other offenders who can be rehabilitated should be allowed back into society.
      Actually, your first point alone is a good argument against the death penalty

      Liked by 3 people

  3. Charity Burke says:

    I’m very hesitant to support the death penalty. Here in the US over 90% of inmates never make it to a trial! Most of those who are detained have agreed (are pressured to agree) to a plea bargin. Whenever a person insists upon a trial it seems as though the justice system punishes them for it by giving them a harder sentence than those men and women who’ve never gone to trial. Our prisons are predominantly full of Black men and Hispanics. Like everything else in this country, money speaks in our criminal system. So many men and women who are trapped in our jails cannot afford the money it takes for proper and effective legal representation. Many of our prisons are privately owned. The more inmates they have, the richer the business owners become. Private businesses come in and charge prisoners ridiculous amounts of money for their limited phone usage. Those contracted for the kitchen serve absolutely disgusting and unhealthy grub (sometimes full of worms, bugs and who knows what else). Noel, it’s shameful to know that there are innocent (falsely accused) people locked up in our prisons. The “guilty” ones are sometimes those who have commited the “crimes” of Marijuana usage and traffic violations. Yet, we are a nation full of cities with thousands of backlogged rape kits per city in places like Detroit and Memphis. Violent criminals are often released early, if they’re even detained at all. Many Whites in my country continually blast Black men for being absentee fathers. They refuse to see that Black men aren’t even given the chance to be good daddys due to the bigotry of our justice system towards non-Whites and the poor.

    (I apologize if I’ve repeated what may have already been discussed in this thread. I didn’t look over the comments and I know that I am late in viewing this post.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • makagutu says:

      You didn’t repeat a thing Charity.

      I told Violet in an earlier comment there is a problem with the justice system in the US of A. Instead of jailing marijuana users and running private jails. Maybe the country should works towards a fair society.

      I think in most places, the poor person is likely to be jailed for lack of proper representation.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. […] raise some interesting issues regarding capital punishment. I’ve seen two posts recently (here and here) which include discussions on the death penalty. Regardless of whether one is for or […]

    Like

  5. What a fascinating debate but I cannot change my view that capital punishment is totally wrong. It is not only in the US that mistakes that can never be put right have been made.

    Liked by 1 person

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.

