Goodbye, my friend


Describe the last difficult “goodbye” you said.

I thought maybe the best response to this prompt should be a song. And so, I hope you like this song, but if you don’t that’s also ok.

Now that we have listened to the song, we can continue with the post. I think the only hard goodbyes we ever say are to those who have left us. And the sad part about it all is we don’t get to actually say goodbye, most times, that is. One moment so and so is alive and in high spirits and shortly after, they are gone and that is.

Since in the last many posts, I have been telling you a bit of myself, I will keep to that in this post. I did not have an opportunity to say goodbye to my childhood friend, Awuor. She died too soon, too young. I don’t know what she would have become had she lived to adulthood. But maybe, as Mark Twain writes in Mysterious Stranger, we should look at death as a gift. It could be the thing that spares us from a life of untold suffering or worse.

I miss my mother. I am not sure I said goodbye to her. I just accepted the fact that she was gone and that it was a one way ticket to nowhere. If there is any hard goodbye, it is this. It is unresolved in its indefiniteness. Unresolved in the void it left. Unresolved in the many possibilities that remain unspoken, unattainable.

Goodbyes are hard because of attachments we have to people or pets or whatever. I don’t seem to have any of this. No. I care deeply for those close to me. But I can resolve the goodbyes easily in my head and life continues. In a world of impermanence, goodbyes are the order of the day. They are to be expected. They are only hard because of the timing- sometimes we have to say them when we are least prepared for it, but saying them we must.

Let us prepare to say our goodbyes for saying them we must. At. Some. Point.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

17 thoughts on “Goodbye, my friend

  1. My husband in November, then my nursemaid kitty, who was helping me through the process, in February…..too close together.

    Like

  2. john zande says:

    Nothing harder than saying goodbye to a pet you are putting to sleep. It rips your heart out.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. UNRESOLVED, I can only imagine how it feels to lose a mother. The truth is that no one will ever suffice to fill the void created by their absence, this is the truth I know from friends who have shared their experience of the same. ACCEPTANCE is the key word here bro, I’m glad you chose to accept, am sure with great difficulty. Saying that goodbye to my mom is the greatest thing I dread, though at my subconscious level, I know it will come, as someone said, one thing we are sure about is that anything/one that liveth is sure to die…it will be difficult. And it is not guaranteed who will go first between us… one hardest one that I remember most is my late brother, my follower, got sick and was no more within a span of three days. It was heartbreaking… I never said goodbye…

    Like

  4. renudepride says:

    Good-byes are always difficult because it is the parting of the ways that none of us has any guarantee of ever rekindling. Good sentiments that you expressed, my Kenyan brother. Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚ Naked hugs!

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.