God

This joke is too good not to share.

The little boy was found by his mother with pencil and paper, making a sketch. When asked what he was doing, he answered promptly, and with considerable pride:
I am drawing a picture of god
But, gasped the shocked mother, you cannot do that. No one has seen god. No one knows how god looks.
Well, the little boy replied, complacently, when I get through they will

cycling on Kenyan roads

I cycle for fun. Some of you know this already.

I also cycle to work. Most of you don’t know this. I do this when the weather is good or when I don’t feel like driving and sitting pretty in slow moving traffic looking at the beautiful women and not so handsome men stroll by. That is where the good news end.

For the benefit of those who can’t place Kenya on a world map, it is somewhere in East Africa, a third world country where 46% of the 43 million citizens live below the poverty line and income level is in the lower middle income you would think the engineers who design the roads would plan for pedestrians and cyclists. What we have are roads planned for vehicular transport and a host of drivers who lack courtesy.

It is hectic trying to cycle in this mess.

People’s attitudes towards cyclists must change. Instead of seeing us as things to be avoided on the road, drivers must begin to see us as road users with as much right on the road as they.

Did I say I hate helmets. They tell you to not ride without one. The thing they should tell you is to as much as possible avoid being knocked down. I wear a helmet though. One only hopes motorists will learn to share the road with cyclists and the road engineers will think of pedestrian and cycle lanes.

No blog about cycling is complete without cyclists.

All photos by my good friend Moses