in the interest of peace

I am a pacifist. The threat or even the possibility of war worries me on end and I will be the first to concede that war has allowed some people who would have been unknown be recognized as heroes. And in America, it does seem joining the military used to be or may still is a sure way of upward mobility.

I am naive also. I know the only way peace would be possible and here I talk world peace, is to have all sides put down their weapons. We know this is not going to happen because humans are not rational actors as we would like to think.

What option is left for peace? I think only an uneasy peace is possible. There will always be threat of war. Nations will continue to build up their armies at the expense of other social services.

Or maybe, nations will fight and those who will be left will agree to a peace agreement till the next war breaks out.