Sleep


Describe one positive change you have made in your life.

I try to sleep a lot, whenever possible since I had good rest keeps the doctor away and those who know me, I don’t like hospitals and doctors.

Nothing beats the awareness that you don’t have to finish a book. Life is short to finish a book you don’t like unless it is tied to your job application or PhD defense. Or your life depends on it.

The biggest change is to live and let live. I don’t get into debates on which is the best god or how many days we should fast unless someone brings the debate to me. This also includes not bothering with the news or even sosho media which means a more quiet life.

There are other changes but I am too lazy to list them. Which reminds me there should be a laziness day somewhere in the calendar where we do whatever it is like with no goal other than that we like it.

If I was a motivational speaker I would have started this post by how I have become a better me but then I don’t find self help helpful.

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

31 thoughts on “Sleep

  1. Susan Taylor says:

    Live and let live. Words of wisdom. Would certainly make the world a better place if this were more widely practiced.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Same here. I sleep at every chance.

    Like

  3. shelldigger says:

    Very interesting.

    So, umm, Im pretty sure what everyone wants to know, which god is the best, and how long do we fast? (I’m on a evil streak today Mak!)

    Sleep truly is a wonder drug. You don’t get enough of it, it eventually starts doing crazy things to you…

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      I hate the days I don’t sleep well enough. I am in a terrible mood half of the time.
      Have you been fasting lately? I hear it is good for weight loss and seeing visions

      Like

      • shelldigger says:

        Fasting in not in my list of things to do. If I go past 30 minutes past my stomach clock informing me that I’m hungry, it thinks I’m fasting. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        If I’m ever in the right place, at the right time, with the right people, I would not mind inducing a vision. But not from fasting.

        Like

  4. Ron says:

    The most positive change I made was to stop listening to the self-proclaimed d experts.

    Like

  5. mugo says:

    True, social media is poison; I left X a few months after you did and it’s been so much peace and silence. People just don’t relate in real life the way they do there. Oh, and sleep. Sleep is, for me as well, the final hurdle standing between me and self-actualization. It’s not even so much sleep as my crippling, neurotic aversion to boredom, to just staying still in patient wait. I don’t know how to stop looking up inane things at 11pm. Exercise does help me go down faster, though.

    Like

  6. USikander says:

    Sleep – the most underrated item on the list of priorities!

    Like

  7. the most personal life-changing thing I ever did was finally teach myself to drive in my 30s and get my driver’s license a few years later (before the cops caught me without one =)

    Like

  8. Nan says:

    Getting off of sweets. Lost those “extra” pounds and overall feel better. BUT … not and easy task!

    Liked by 1 person

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.