Giving back to society


In the past I have read posts written by theists who have said atheism is irrational because there are questions it can’t answer. I have been turning this question over in my head to get to how someone gets to such a point and it occurred to me you need the intelligence of unripe bananas to write that. And so in the spirit of comradeship, here is a list of questions, you can add yours, that atheism can’t answer and because of that, atheism is irrational and all you heathens should all become Muslim.

  • Atheism can’t answer why I prefer vanilla to strawberry whenever am buying ice cream
  • Atheism can’t answer why I was born with a dark skin
  • Atheism can’t answer why politicians, police, prison warders and thieves compete for the same position- scum of the population
  • Atheism can’t explain why sex is such a great thing
  • Atheism can’t explain why some people do well in school and others dismally
  • Atheism can’t explain why I love classical music

If your measure of the truth of a proposition is dependent on the questions you think it can’t answer, many theories will be considered irrational. It is akin to calling a fish stupid because it can’t ride a bicycle. Dear theist, before you assert atheism is irrational because it can’t answer this or that, ask yourself what is atheism. You may save yourself lots of embarrassment. I am glad I could help 😛

About makagutu

As Onyango Makagutu I am Kenyan, as far as I am a man, I am a citizen of the world

40 thoughts on “Giving back to society

  1. Mordanicus says:

    Neither does the non-existence of pink unicorns explain those question. Hence pink unicorns do exist…

    Like

  2. Excellent post, once again, Mak. Here’s one for the christian theist to ponder: Why is it that neither atheism nor christianity can answer why there are no gods but Allah, and there are no prophets but Mohammad?

    Like

  3. aguywithoutboxers says:

    LOL! Whether or not this entry was intended to be humorous or not, I found it very entertaining, my Nairobi brother. Thanks for putting a grin on my chin!

    Atheism can’t answer why some angels are good and protective and why others other evil and deceitful. Atheism can’t explain why some believers are so greedy and hypocritical and ignore the core tenets of their particular belief system.

    Much love and naked hugs, my friend! 🙂 Have a terrific day!

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      This is a very serious post! Am glad it made you laugh. The motto here is never to take life too seriously, no one else does and everyone dies at the end.

      Liked by 1 person

      • aguywithoutboxers says:

        So true, my friend and blogging buddy! Excellent motto you have, my Nairobi brother. At least by living your motto, we all die happy! 😉

        Like

  4. poor unripe bananas 🙂

    In my recent discussions with a pair of Christians, Diana and Seth, I have to wonder if they ever tried to think about their claims from the point of view of someone who doesn’t believe and apply their arguments for their god to someone else’s god. It surely doesn’t seem so and when I try to encourage such things, they certainly don’t like it. I some cases I think they cannot think in that way and in most cases I think they will not.

    Like

  5. […] over at his blog “Maasai Boys” wrote this post lamenting the explanation accusations and wondering why this happens (go read it; it’s good). […]

    Like

  6. Liberty of Thinking says:

    Now, many of you know my reluctance in calling myself an atheist –simply because my acceptance of the term should imply a clear QED, rather then a belief in the non-existence of a deity–, chosing to stand against the annoyance of many, on the ever moving grounds of agnosticism; I feel rather shocked to hear that theists are calling atheists “irrational”, which would candidly imply theism’s rationality.
    I shall therefore, from the “been there done that” imaginary pulpit of my former, nearly 20 years of christian ministry, corroborated with the right knowledge of a proper degree in theology, declare that theology -by its own mandatory definition-, cannot be rational, but only logic, assuming that the desired logical outcome emerges from a presupposition carefully chosen from its own arsenal of “self-proclaiming and therefore unquestionable truths”, e.g. “the existence of god is assumed by the biblical texts, and therefore in no need of further proofs”.
    Let me ask then, what are we talking about!?

    Like

  7. Arkenaten says:

    Brilliant! I love posts like this, Mak. Succinct and to the point.
    Baffle them with bullshit!

    Like

  8. Liberty of Thinking says:

    Ah, your Majestic Holy of Holiness, much obliged for Thy loving-kindness, Aymen! 🙂

    Like

  9. Atheism can’t answer why grass is green or the sky is blue …. wait, sorry, I fucked that up.

    Like

  10. […] giving back to society, we enumerated some questions atheism can’t answer. When Turek and his followers write there […]

    Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.