4 thoughts on “On why we should be happy

  1. mixedupmeme says:

    I am beginning to like this Nietzsche fellow. Why did I dread him so much in a Western Civ class?

    Like

    • makagutu says:

      Please tell me!

      Like

      • mixedupmeme says:

        The Western Civilization course was one of the hardest I ever took. We were assigned a reading and then would discuss in a small group of about 5. We would meet in the student union lounge and a TA would lead the discussion. I guess he wanted us to feel casual and comfortable. And NO I didn’t feel that way at all. The leader was a smart aleck and liked to make me suffer.

        Actually I remember absolutely nothing about the course except this. During one discussion about who knows who (maybe Freud) the TA took his pencil and said this is a penis. I have no idea or can’t remember my reaction. But as a young innocent freshman, I probably slid down in my chair and tried to hide. Today I probably would ask him if I could borrow the pencil, put it in my purse or break it in half. Or maybe I would just chew on the end. I’ve come a long way baby.

        So you see what memories this Nietzsche fellow dredges up for me. lol

        Like

        • makagutu says:

          You have come a long way. You can now sit and read Nietzsche. The book am reading currently, Thus Spake Zarathustra is quite good. And you should look for the said TA and give him a piece of your mind of what you think of his involvement in the course!

          Like

We sure would love to hear your comments, compliments and thoughts.