God’s debris: A thought experiment

by Scott Adams

Friends, if you haven’t read this book you should. It is a quick read, interesting and will disturb your senses. If it doesn’t then I advice you to continue reading the bible and other books of fairies for you it is definitely not meant for you. The author says children under the age of 14 should not read it, so if you are below 14, this where you need to stop and go play dice, come back when you are of age!

I don’t want to do a run down of the book here, I will just lift up a few quotes or passages that I found interesting and hope they are sufficient in drawing you to reading the book.

Here is a conversation

Old man: Let me ask you a simple question: Did you deliver the package or did the package deliver you?

Delivery man: I delivered the package

OM: If the package had no address, would you have delivered it here?

DM: No

OM: Then you would agree that delivering the package required the participation of the package. The package told you where to go?

DM: I suppose that’s true, in a way.

Another interesting set of questions

OM: Does god have free will?

DM: Obviously he does, I’ll admit there’s some ambiguity about whether human beings have free will, but God is  omnipotent. Being omnipotent means you can do anything you want. If God didn’t have free will, he wouldn’t be very omnipotent.

Here we go again

OM: If you want to understand UFOs, reincarnation, and God, do not study UFOs, reincarnation, and God. Study people.

DM: Are you saying none of those things are real?

OM: No, I am saying that UFOs, reincarnation, and God are all equal in terms of their reality.

And the part that made me laugh the most

DM: I have some friends who are skeptics, they’re in that Skeptics Society. I think they’d tear you apart.

OM: Skeptics suffer from the skeptics’ disease—the problem of being right too often

I would like to hear your opinions of the book once you read it. It will take at most 3 hours of your time if your read at snail’s pace like yours truly :-D.

The problem of omnipotence

Friends, a while ago in a post I did ask if it was possible for god to commit suicide. I want to revisit the post but I want to ask a different question. Omnipotence would mean that whatever god willed, it should happen. We are told his creating the universe was an act of will. So now, don’t you all the think the most important question for a god would be what would happen if it were not there… in essence what would happen if god ceased to exist.

Am assuming this is what happened at the beginning of the universe, in willing the universe into existence, he willed himself out of existence and this explains why there is no evidence for a god.

What are your views?

Times are hard but……

Friends, I don’t know about you, but it appears to me that for some damsels in the beautiful city of Nairobi, with its high unemployment levels, life has become too hard to bear and with no legitimate means to get the much required cash for hairdo, make up and flashy clothing, a solution to this problem must and needs be found. How good this solution is, I can’t be judge. A few of these sisters working alone or in groups manage to attract the attention of young and sex starved men with some disposable cash which it seems they want to reduce to manageable levels and here is where the drama starts.

I have heard of reports of people getting their drinks spiked [drugged] only to wake up later to find all they own is the boxers they were in when they went to the bar after having been robbed clean literally. But this are the lucky lot, at least if they manage to get home, all they have to deal with is shame and additional expenses of buying phones and a new wallet and if you are so unlucky, a visit to the Immigration’s Department for an identity card and to the bank for a new ATM card. It is their lucky day if they were not asked to reveal their passwords!

There is the unlucky group of men who thinking they have got an easy lay take these women home. This young man if he is lucky he will get laid, that is if he is lucky, most don’t get that far. They get drugged as soon they get home and offer drinks to their beautiful finds. They blackout and wake up the following day with a hangover and a house emptied of his priced electronics. How these feats are achieved, I can’t even begin to describe but these are the stories we hear.

I don’t know if it is the economy to blame or something else, that I leave to you friends to be the judges!

Women in clubs conning their way to riches